Find UK Tuition

Martin Wallis - Maths, Further Maths & Statistics Tutor in Surbiton

Martin Wallis A-level Maths Tutor (Kingston upon Thames)

Martin Wallis

  • Surbiton (KT6) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 29 Sep 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Elmbridge, Epsom and Ewell
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I love Maths and I like to make that passion infectious. I work with students of all abilities to create a personal plan which builds confidence and stretches ability.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Mathematics and Further Mathematics and equivalent. I also help undergraduates with their Mathematics.
Tell me about your qualifications.
MA in Mathematics and Business Studies from Cambridge.
PGCE also from Cambridge.
What kind of experience do you have?
I taught Maths and Computing in London schools for over 12 years, half of that time as head of department, before movng into industry. Now retired, I returned in 2012 to my first love: teaching. Since then I have had excellent results helping those who have asked for help to achieve thier potential. I was also an A-level examiner in Mechanics.
How much do you charge?
£40 per hour A-level or above inclusive of travel to your home. £35 per hour for GCSE, but currently I am not taking on any more customers for GCSE or iGCSE.

I have to charge an additional £5 per lesson for journeys over 5 miles.
Where do you teach?
I teach at students' homes and will go anywhere within 30 minutes drive of Surbiton.
When are you available?
I prefer Monday to Thursday, 9:00 to 19:30
Which ages and levels do you teach?
KS4 and above.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I have recent experience in GCSE, IGCSE, A-level Maths and Further Maths, STEP, OCR, Cambridge pre-University and QTS numeracy. For A-level, all the modules:Core, Statistics, Mechanics and Decision Maths. I can also cover IB. I have also helped undergraduates with their Maths and/or Statistics.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes: December 2012.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
Association of Teachers of Mathematics
Where and with whom did you train?
I did my PGCE at Cambridge, with teaching practice at the Perse School.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I have worked with a wide range of people from someone struggling with GCGE via many A-level students to a woman needing with help with a Statistics module in her Psychology MA. One young woman in year 13 was doing Further Maths, but her school had only been able to fit in one evening lesson per week. After her results, she posted: "I never would have been able to get my A* in Further Maths A2 without his help! Had loads of good methods for doing things and showed me the relevance of what I was learning. This helped me to remember it and apply it in unfamiliar questions. Most of all he reminded me that Maths is fun! Thank you very much."
Do you have a personal message for students?
I promise the lessons will be painless and fun, although the homework might not be.