Find UK Tuition

Neil Bellingham: Physics Maths Science Entrance Exam Tutor: Croydon/Do

Neil Bellingham A-level Physics Tutor (Croydon)

Neil Bellingham Gold Member

  • Addiscombe (CR0) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 24 Feb 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Web site: www.dorkingtutor.co.uk
  • Can Travel To: Bromley, Merton, Mole Valley, Reigate and Banstead, Sutton
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I find tutoring across a range of subjects immensely rewarding and want students to discover and develop the skills and knowledge to achieve their goals and build their confidence for life.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
GCSE Maths, Physics, Science
A level Physics
11+ & 13+ (inc. Verbal & Non-Verbal Reasoning)
Tell me about your qualifications.
BA (Hons) Philosophy & Psychology (Oxford University)
BSc (Hons) Natural Sciences: Physics (Open University)

This broad range of qualifications, covering arts and science subjects, helps me tackle subjects across the academic curriculum and teach analytical skills for getting to the heart of a question and answering it directly and succesfully.
What kind of experience do you have?
I started working as a tutor in 2010 because I found that helping students realise their academic potential is hugely satisfying.

Students' abilities and desired goals vary a great deal. Passing exams is not an end in itself but a means of progressing to the next stage. I aim to instil an intellectual rigour and curiosity that will be of use in any subject and throughout someone's life. This requires a sympathetic approach, tailored to the particular student, and delivered in a relaxed environment with a degree of enthusiasm and commitment which keeps students engaged.

Exam success requires a solid understanding of the core material, a successful revision programme and good exam skills. All three of these areas are key teaching objectives.

Guiding someone to an understanding of a problem helps them gain knowledge, hone skills and builds their confidence for life.
How much do you charge?
£40 / hour.
Where do you teach?
In the Croydon area I teach from my home.
I also tutor in the Dorking and Leatherhead area from a house in Dorking.

I am not available to tutor from people's homes save in exceptional circumstances; I would rather spend the small window of time after school helping students rather than travelling between them.
When are you available?
I am potentially available to tutor from Monday - Friday from 10am - 8pm.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
From 10 upwards.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE, A Level, 11+, 13+
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
A DBS is not available for the self-employed so I have followed the Government's advice and obtained a Disclosure Scotland certificate which contains "impartial and confidential criminal history information held by the police and government departments which can be used by employers to make safer recruitment decisions."
Do you have a personal message for students?
I really enjoy guiding someone through the process of understanding a new topic or one which they've found difficult at school. However, this requires hard work by both tutor and student and though there are other things which are more fun for a student, the sense of achievement and gain in confidence is a very satisfying pay-off for that hard work.