Find UK Tuition

Chris Downing - Maths Physics Tutor in Mid-Devon area

Chris Downing A-level Maths Tutor (Exeter)

Chris Downing Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification Physics BSc, University of Exeter
  • Professional Qualification PGCE, QTS
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS enhanced disclosure (CRB)
  • Professional Membership Experience teaching at local sixth form colleges

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
The tuition that I offer is very traditional and simple. Study the basics to understand a topic in full; practise, review, progress. Confidence is key. Students will improve their study skills which will help in their next stage in life.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach Mathematics from KS2 up to A' level, Physics to A' level and beyond and General Science to GCSE level.
Revision videos are available free for educational use - see web site link.
Tell me about your qualifications.
In addition to a BSc in Physics from the University of Exeter, I studied with the Open University up to level 3 in a variety of Maths, Physics and Science modules. Fully qualified and experienced Teacher of Physics and general Science, also teacher of GCSE and A' level Mathematics.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been teaching for over 12 years and offering personal tuition for over 7 years. Tuition is mostly one to one although I have run successful group sessions in the past.
How much do you charge?
Current fees are £35 per hour for personal tuition. If the travel time is significant then a small contribution for fuel is added. It is more economic to tutor for a longer session on alternate weeks if the travel time is greater.
Where do you teach?
I travel to students' homes for personal tuition, for shorter travel times from Cullompton in Devon. Areas covered include Tiverton, Ottery St Mary, Honiton, Sidmouth, South Molton, Wellington and the Blackdown Hills area into Somerset. Some students prefer tuition in our home; we have a quiet lounge so that parents may wait.
When are you available?
I tutor evenings, weekends and daytimes in the week. The Saturday appointments are popular and tend to be booked first. I try not to work on a Friday evening as I am tired and students are too tired to study! Week day appointments are popular for students who are home schooled.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Generally, I offer personal tuition from KS3 to GCSE and to A' Level. I also offer tuition to adult learners. There are a mix of students from private and state schools and colleges which is both interesting and useful.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I have had success with entrance exams to local private schools and some IGCSE qualifications. Please contact me for advice.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Full up-to-date DBS (CRB) certificate.