Find UK Tuition

Professional Maths/Science/Dyscalculia Online Tutor

Dr. Atul Rana IGCSE Maths Tutor (East London)

Dr. Atul Rana Gold Member

  • South Woodford (E18) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 29 Apr 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Web site: www.atulranatutors.co.uk
  • Can Travel To: Haringey, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Newham, Waltham Forest, Westminster
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification Mechanical Engineering Degree MEng
  • Professional Qualification Mechanical Engineering PhD
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS check updated on April 2017
  • Professional Membership Maths Tutors UK, Science Tutors UK
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other online tutors)

Personal Message
Trained and experienced professional full time online tutor delivering an even better teaching experience than face to face. Applying a structured, practical, caring approach to helping your child.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
- Maths and Physics up to A Level
- Dyscalculia
- All the Sciences GCSE and iGCSE
- 11+/13+ exams maths and Science
- Mechanical Engineering for school or BTEC Level
Tell me about your qualifications.
PhD and degree in Mechanical Engineering both from Imperial College London. Attending 4 CPD maths teacher training events every year.
What kind of experience do you have?
- 11 years (more than 5000 hours) of one to one individualised tutoring experience
- 5 years experience tutoring online
- 6 years experience of live-in residential tutoring with families
- Teaching assistant at London primary and secondary schools
- Specialist Marker for GCSE exam scripts for Edexcel
- Mechanical Engineer at Rolls Royce Plc
- Business Analyst (Software Development) at CRU Group London

I have extensive experience of tutoring students with Special needs that include Dyslexia, Dyspraxia, Dyscalculia, ADD or Aspergers. I use coloured pens in all my tutoring amongst a range of other learning aids.
How much do you charge?
The hourly rates are shown above.
Where do you teach?
I tutor online and I can positively say that it is far better than traditional in person tuition. Students are more relaxed, engage better, take ownership of learning more, speak out their methods and write more notes when I tutor them online than I do face to face. I have stopped tutoring in person because online has been much better for my students.
When are you available?
I am a professional tutor so I tutor midweek in the day times, evenings and some slots on the weekends. I do get extremely booked out during school holidays so the earlier you contact me the more likely I will have some free slots.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Key Stages 2, 3, 4 and 5. Students in the age range of 9 to 18. For Dyscalcula adults as well.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes. Up to date as of April 2017 and renewed every year automatically.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I have been tutoring on Skype for over 4 years and have a great system of tutoring online that I have perfected. I use a high quality whiteboard called BitPaper that runs on the student browser. Students have instant access to a range of resources that I have bought through paid subscriptions and some public ones on the internet. I also direct them to highly educational videos. In other words, I add value simply by directing students to exactly the right resources that will be suitable for them.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I train tutors online on group video calls. I also run Maths Tutors UK, a group of 450 Independent Tutors across the UK.
Where and with whom did you train?
I regularly attend conferences by La Salle Education and am part of their Complete Maths Network which consists of the very best and motivated classroom teachers in the UK.I have been Dyscalculia trained by Pat Babtie, author of the book The Dyscalculia Solution.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I homeschool a Year 11 girl Physics and Chemistry iGCSE, a boy Physics and Maths. I cover the entire syllabus with them myself. I have three day school year 11 students for Science. Three more year 11 students who are at boarding schools, one year 10 student, and a year 9 dyslexic/ADD student who was getting less than 50% in maths last year. After my tutoring she got 95% and is now in the top set, so I am guiding her to the pace of the faster top set until she feels confident to manage it all on her own. My youngest student is a 7 year old girl with mild Dyslexia and I tutor her using cuiseniare rods and other learning aids. On the other end of the age spectrum, I am tutoring a BTEC Engineering student.
Do you have a personal message for students?
"Life is not about discovering our talents; it is about pushing our talents to the limit and discovering our genius." - Robert Brault