Find UK Tuition

Maths/ Science Tutor in Reading - Lana Downing

Lana Downing Key Stage 2 Science Tutor (Reading)

Lana Downing Gold Member

  • Central Reading (RG2) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 11 Apr 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Slough, Windsor and Maidenhead
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification Currently studying for MChem Chemistry
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Currently up to date DBS
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Hi! I am an experienced tutor and am currently a student at the University of Reading. I work mainly based from online tuition, but also offer face to face sessions.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Main subjects: Mathematics (mainly statistics, but can do M1), Further Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics (These can be tutored from KS2 to A-Level)
Others to GCSE: German, Biology, Double and Triple combined sciences
Other: Proof reading, study skills and techniques
Tell me about your qualifications.
Part 4 of a 4 year course for MChem Chemistry with a Year in Research (Currently on-line for a 1st Class)
A Levels in Mathematics, Chemistry and Physics
11 GCSEs grades A*-B including Mathematics (A*), Chemistry (A*), Biology (A) and Physics (A)
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been tutoring for 4 years and have many different types of students throughout the process, I have also been a voluntary classroom assistant through my A-Levels at school and have worked with students with learning disabilities. In the 2015/16 academic year I had 4 A-Level students, all of which obtained the grades they required and were able to go to their top choice university.
How much do you charge?
My standard fees are:
11+/KS2: £20
GCSE: £25
A Level: £30

If required to travel a considerable distance (using trains) I do require travel allowances.
I can offer discounts for group lessons, please enquire.
Where do you teach?
I can teach at my own home and students homes if required, I try to fit to the student's needs as much as possible.
I am in Reading, but I can tutor in the neighbouring towns as long as the student/parents agree to travel allowances.

Places: Reading, Slough, Maidenhead, Woodley, Earley, Whitley, Burnham, Berkshire
I am willing to travel to all towns above as long as the sessions are long enough to compensate for the travel length. Please enquire.
When are you available?
I am available on weekday evenings and weekends, please enquire for more information.

Current availability: (More availability for skype, please enquire)
Monday: None
Tuesday: None
Wednesday: None
Thursday: From 7:30pm
Friday: From 4pm
Saturday: From 3:30pm until 5:30pm
Sunday: From 2pm until 5pm

Apologies for lack of availability - I have been booked up very fast this year!
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach all ages and all levels from KS1 to A Level
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, available on request.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I use skype and prepare presentations that can be gone through (lecture style) and have model written answers for exams papers which can also been gone through using the 'share screens' function.

Please enquire for more information.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am an affiliate of the Royal Society of Chemistry