Find UK Tuition

Maths Tutor in Cheadle Hulme and Bramhall

Dr Clare Reger A-level Maths Tutor (Stockport)

Dr Clare Reger

  • Cheadle Hulme (SK8)
  • Last Logged In: 09 Jan 2018
  • Sex: Female

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a highly qualified maths tutor with experience tutoring within a school setting and privately.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I specialise in GCSE and A Level Maths, with a focus on learning in order to achieve the best exam grades possible whilst also building the foundations of understanding and enjoyment of mathematics as a subject. A solid foundation in maths at this level is important for a range of university degrees and work settings, and I strive to focus on making maths relevant for the student, depending on their personal goals for the future.

I have experience teaching study skills at university undergraduate and post-graduate level. Consequently, I also offer study skills tuition in areas such as exam revision and time management. Please contact me for more information on the range of areas I cover.

Having recently completed a PhD of over 100,000 words, I also offer dissertation proof-reading in engineering and social sciences subjects.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a Masters Degree in Engineering from the University of Cambridge. This included extensive use of mathematics, both applied and pure.

After completing my degree I spent a year tutoring maths and physics at a local school before beginning my PhD in Renewable Energy at the University of Sheffield. I have recently completed my PhD which was an interdisciplinary project spanning Engineering and Social Science.

My PhD included work on personal experiences and motivations in a work setting, and therefore included extensive study in this area. I have therefore developed an interest in this area of research and have enjoyed exploring research around what motivates people and how they learn, something which is directly applicable to my tutoring.

I am currently undertaking a PGCE in further education, which focuses on teaching GCSE, A Level and Further Maths.
What kind of experience do you have?
I was employed as a maths tutor at a secondary school and sixth form college for 8 months (before leaving to begin my PhD). This included one-to-one and small group teaching of students struggling to gain a C grade at GCSE as well as one-to-one and small group teaching of A Level maths and physics students. I taught a maths revision module for an A Level maths group and an A Level Physics group. I am particularly proud of helping one student achieve a C grade at GCSE, who was taking the exam for the third time in her final A Level year. This enabled her to take the course she wanted at college.

I also have experience tutoring A Level Maths privately (including core modules, mechanics and statistics).

I am currently undertaking a PGCE where I teach GCSE, A Level and Further Maths.
How much do you charge?
I offer discounts for group lessons or siblings, please contact me to discuss. I may charge extra fees for travel if significant travel is required.
Where do you teach?
I tutor within Cheadle Hulme and Bramhall. I can also teach in my own home or offer online tuition.
When are you available?
I am generally available evenings and weekends. Please note I have very little availability at present.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach GCSE and A Level to students of any age taking these exams.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE and A Level including help with revision planning and revision techniques.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I use online tutoring software and video calling. This means that students see a virtual whiteboard that they can also edit where we work through problems.