Find UK Tuition

Maths Tutor in Clapham & Woking - Mr Shaun Miles

Mr Shaun Miles GCSE Maths Tutor (South West London)

Mr Shaun Miles

  • Clapham Junction (SW11)
  • Last Logged In: 25 Apr 2018
  • Sex: Male
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Hello, my name is Shaun. I am a Mathematics graduate and am now working as an Investment Analyst for a global consultancy firm. I am understanding, patient and passionate about teaching all ages and abilities.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach Mathematics and Statistics at KS2, KS3 and GCSE levels.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I am currently an Investment Analyst at a global consultancy company. I studied Mathematics with Actuarial Science at the University of Southampton and achieved an upper-class 2.1 in 2013.
A-Levels: Maths, Business Studies, Physical Education AAC
GCSE's: 9 A's and 3 B's.
What kind of experience do you have?
Since school I have tutored friends who have struggled with Mathematics and as part of my employment I have mentored candidates embarking on the Chartered Financial Analyst programme.
How much do you charge?
20% discounts on the second hour, 10 % discount for additional half hours.
Where do you teach?
I teach both in the student's home and online. I live in Clapham Junction, Wandsworth but work Woking, Surrey area so both regions are applicable. I am happy to travel outside of these areas such as Kensington and Chelsea or Hammersmith.
When are you available?
All weekday evenings, Saturday mornings and all day Sundays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach ages 11-18.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I prepare students for Mathematics at the following levels: KS2, KS3 and GCSE.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a DBS for my current job as an Investment Analyst.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I use Skype for online tutoring.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am a member of the Chartered Financial Analyst Institute.
Do you have a personal message for students?
Hi, my name is Shaun. Despite achieving a 2.1 upper-class honours degree in Mathematics, I would be lying if I said Mathematics was always easy for me to learn at school and college. In my first year at college, while undertaking AS-Level Mathematics, I was given a predicted grade of 'D' by my teacher at that time. Disconcerted by my teacher's prediction, I decided to take matters into my own hands by applying myself completely to learning the material intimately out-of-school hours. Through my hard work and focus I achieved an A* grade in my first year, much to my teacher's surprise. I had unearthed a new found admiration for a subject that I had never properly appreciated and this led to further studies and subsequently a career in which a solid understanding of Mathematics is essential.

I apply the same systematic and methodical techniques in my tutoring, as I did in college and throughout university, to help students better understand the subject and what is required of them to pass exams with flying colours. As a individual I am friendly, approachable, patient and relatable. I hope to create a teaching environment whereby the student feels able to learn and develop and is comfortable enough to ask any questions, no matter how silly they may seem. I am contactable outside of our tutoring hours for any help with homework. I look forward to working with you.