Find UK Tuition

Maths/ English/ Geography Tutor in Galashiels - Courtenay Young

Courtenay Young Higher Maths Tutor (Galashiels)

Courtenay Young

  • Galashiels (TD1)
  • Last Logged In: 12 Mar 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: East Lothian, Edinburgh, Midlothian
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a qualified (ex-) secondary school teacher (Maths, English, Computer Studies); re-qualified as a psychotherapist and have worked as such (both privately and in the NHS) since 1984. I now work part-time as a counsellor and tutor.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I can teach Maths, English, Geography and Psychology - as well as topics such as Modern Studies.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a B.SC. (Economics); a Post-Graduate Certificate of Education; a Diploma in Psychology; a Certificate in Psychotherapy; and am an accredited (UKCP) Psychotherapist ' NHS Counsellor and am qualified in Counselling Supervision. I also have a NEBOSH Certificate in Health & Safety, as well as several other certificates.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have considerable experience over many years in working with children and adolescents in several different capacities (Play Leader, Scouting, Group Work, Individual Tuition, Counselling, Expeditions). As I am in my late 60's, I have been working for over 45 years: initially as a secondary school teacher; then - for the last 30 years - as a psychotherapist and counsellor. I have also worked with (difficult) adolescent girls in a children's home; with psycho-geriatrics; with people coming out of mental hospital; with people in prison; and with psychiatric out-patients, as well as with people in communities, and referrals from insurance companies and from GPs for counselling and psychotherapy. I have led play-groups and summer playschemes, been an assistant scoutmaster, taken people on walking expeditions in the Highlands, been the Health & Safety Officer of a large educational community; administered psychotherapy training centres; I have been the editor of a psychotherapy journal; worked in professional associations with training standards, ethical codes, and articles of association; been the director of a mental health charitable company; and been helping adults get back into education; etc., etc.
How much do you charge?
My hourly rate is £40.00 per hour for work with an individual child or adolescent - except for work in higher educational subjects, when it is £45.00 per hour.
I am prepared to reduce this rate a little bit for a 'block' of sessions.
I am prepared to travel free-of-charge within a 10 mile radius of Galashiels; for journeys more than 20 miles round-tri, I charge the additional milage @ 40p per mile.
Where do you teach?
I teach at people's homes, or in any other suitable and reasonably private location: if I have to pay a room fee (as at a centre), that will be extra. I can give sessions by Skype or internet ... but only after the first two face-to-face sessions, and only for two consecutive sessions.
When are you available?
Mainly Tuesdays and Thursdays; afternoons and evenings - and all day in school holidays. I am prepared to work on a Saturday, but at an additional 50% rate.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Secondary, and pre-university: i.e. 13-19 years. I can also teach adults wishing to 'get back' into education and/or academia or professional studies.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE, O-level, A-level, IB, SVQ 1-3
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a recent Disclosure Scotland (PVG) which shows that I have no criminal record.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I can tutor on-line, but will only do so after a couple of face-to-face meetings. I prefer not to give more than 2 consecutive sessions on-line.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
United Kingdom Council for Psychotherapy; European Association for Psychotherapy; British Psychological Society.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am pleasant and friendly, but also firm and clear.