Find UK Tuition

Maths Tutor in Hall Green, SE Birmingham

Lynne Davis A-level Maths Tutor (Birmingham)

Lynne Davis Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BEng (Hons) Electronic Engineering with German
  • Professional Qualification Qualified Teacher Status
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS January 2017 + subscribed to DBS Update Service
  • Professional Membership NUT
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
When you have the right support, Maths is easier than you think. I can help you to develop your confidence and skills in order to get the results you need.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
My main subject is Maths.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I am a fully qualified teacher with a First Class Honours degree in Engineering and German.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been teaching Maths in a variety of schools and colleges since 2003, going up to A-level, including both class teaching and individual tuition at support workshops. I find it very rewarding when I see a “penny drop” – when I am able to help a student who has been struggling with a particular concept to understand it and realise that, actually, it’s not as hard as they thought.

During the 2016/17 academic year I moved away from classroom teaching to concentrate on private tuition. I'm still doing occasional cover work, which helps me to keep up to date with the changing landscape of Maths education.

The majority of my experience is with the AQA A-level but I have also taught parts of the Edexcel specification at A-level, AQA A-level Use of Maths, the Maths element of the new Level 3 BTEC in Engineering, Edexcel, AQA and OCR at GCSE, and the Edexcel IGCSE, as well as a variety of other Level 2 qualifications (Functional Maths, Adult Numeracy, Edexcel Award in Number & Measure).

Since 2010 I have also been working as an examiner for AQA, marking A-level module papers, and as of 2017 I now also have experience of marking the new GCSE. In addition I have marked Singapore A-level papers for the Cambridge International exam board. This all means that I have a very good understanding of how answers need to be presented to obtain maximum marks.

I also have experience of living and working in Germany, and of teaching English in Japan.
How much do you charge?
I offer a free initial 20-minute consultation / sample lesson, with both tutee and parent present, where we discuss the student's particular needs and work on relevant skills. We will usually address one or two areas of difficulty there and then, but this information also enables me to better personalise the teaching at subsequent, paid, lessons. If an immediate hour-long lesson is required then I will give a £12 discount in lieu of the free consultation.

After the initial session, one-to-one lessons are priced at £30 per hour at GCSE level and £35 at A-level. (For students who first enquire after 1st Januray for external exams that summer, subject to me having space available, I charge an additional £5 per hour.) I ask for payment by bank transfer at the beginning of each month and require 48 hours' notice of any cancellations, so that I have time to offer the cancelled slot to someone on my waiting list.

Details of charges for group lessons can be found on my website - see link.
Where do you teach?
All evening lessons take place at my home in Hall Green, south-east Birmingham (near the Robin Hood Island).
For lessons during school hours, I may consider travelling within a 4-mile radius (i.e. Shirley, Acocks Green, Olton, central Solihull, Yardley Wood, Billesley, Kings Heath, Moseley), in which case a £5 surcharge will apply.
When are you available?
At the moment all my evening slots are taken but I do still have some availability during school hours.
If you can only manage evenings (I do Mondays to Thursdays) then I can add you to my waiting list and let you know when a cancellation slot becomes available for a one-off lesson. In the longer term there will be students who move on and vacate their slots, and those on my waiting list will be the first to hear when a long-term slot becomes available. I may also offer some small-group revision sessions during school holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
My main focus is tuition for GCSE and A-level exams so most of my tutees are between 14 and 18 years old (usually starting from Year 10), though I am happy to also offer adult tuition.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
Maths to GCSE and A-level; other Level 1, 2 and 3 Maths qualifications such as Functional Maths and Core Maths.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, my most recent DBS certificate is dated January 2017, and I am subscribed to the DBS Update Service.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I have dipped my toe in the water and can do the occasional online session (using Zoom and Bitpaper) if a tutee is unable to travel or has an infectious illness but isn't feeling too unwell to have their lesson, but most of my tutoring is face-to-face.
Where and with whom did you train?
I attained my UK Qualified Teacher Status via the Graduate Teacher Programme in 2003/4, through Tudor Grange School (now Academy) and Newman University.
Tell me about some of your current students.
The majority of my students are studying either GCSEs or A-levels at locals schools and colleges. I have also supported students doing the IGCSE and the Level 3 BTEC in Engineering.