Find UK Tuition

Enthusiastic Patient Maths Tutor in Leeds - Chris Read

Chris Read GCSE Maths Tutor (Leeds)

Chris Read

  • Kirkstall (LS4) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 30 Jul 2018
  • Sex: Male
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I'm a maths tutor with experience and a great enthusiasm for the subject, which I aim to share with all students. I also aim to help each pupil reach the qualifications they need.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I tutor for Maths at GCSE, and Core Maths and Mechanics towards Maths A-Level. I am also happy to help adult students towards Functional Skills qualifications.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I hold a Maths BSc (Sheffield) and a PGCE (Mathematics) and a more recent qualification called an Essential Skills Practitioner, aimed at teaching adult learners.
What kind of experience do you have?
I taught at Leeds City College for 3 years, where my students were adults. My subjects there were Functional Skills and Maths GCSE. I currently teach Maths privately from years 10 to years 13 (GCSE and A-Level).
How much do you charge?
My fee is £35 an hour for A-Level and £30 per hour for GCSE, but you get more of my time than that, as I plan targeted lessons for each student.
I offer a free 20 minutes session with all new students, to discuss your aims, ambitions and areas of particular concern.
Generally I expect these sessions to be One to One but may be willing to work with a second student in the same session, providing the second student is at the same level of ability. This will be for 50% extra Thats to say, two GCSE students for £45, so £22.50 each
Where do you teach?
I currently teach at students' homes. I don't charge for travelling for this, though my availability for this will depend on location as I will focus on specific neighbourhoods on specific days. If you live more than 30 minutes drive my my house on North West Leeds, I'm likely to be more available for online tutoring.

So I can reach more students, and dispense with such travel practicalities, am particularly interested in taking on more students willing to learn online. Learning onlibe provides more flexibilty on time and on what we cover as I can change subject easily if I have all my resources at my fingertips
When are you available?
I will negotiate this separately with each new student. I am flexible as far as I can be considering other commitments, particularly my existing students. Flexibility will be greatest for online students.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
My target audience is students preparing for the England/Wales GCSE, aged 14+ or adult. You can be aiming for the Foundation or Higher paper. I also tutor Maths A-Level, particularly the Core and Mechanics sections. If you have another target, feel free to ask me about it. I am about to start tutoring a guy who wants help in the Maths part of his application to be a fire fighter. If we can define your goal, I may be able to help.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I prepare students for Maths GCSE and A-level, but if there is another qualification you are working towards, please let me know and I will investigate
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes I do. I am happy to show my certificate if requested.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
My arrangements for tutoring online are not so different to face to face. I will e-mail all materials prepared before the session. I will use software called Zoom and Bitpaper, and I will help you to install this at no cost to yourself. You will need a webcam or built in camera.A 'scribbler pad' is also recommended but not essential. It will be easier to provide flexibility online but otherwise you will get the same enthusiastic me
Where and with whom did you train?
I have a PGCE from what is now called Sheffield Hallam University, and did a further teaching course at Leeds City college in 2012-13.
Tell me about some of your current students.
For the last year I taught students in year 10, coming up to GCSE in year 11 and to A-level, in year 13. Some of these have now finished their studies.

The most notable thing about last years students is how different they all are, with one hoping to study Maths at university, while another hoping he can just get that Maths GCSE so he can get into theatre school. The full range. I don't have a standard lesson for all students. I take care to match my tutoring to the needs of the student
Do you have a personal message for students?
Having a private tutor means never having to say, "Sorry" if you make a mistake. I strongly believe we learn by our mistakes, and yes some you might make more than once. But it's OK!

It's my job to raise your confidence. All I ask is you tell me what you are thinking about the questions we work on together. I don't teach a 'standard lesson', I take time to find the questions that will help you with your understanding, and take things at your pace.

I love Maths, and while I understand not everyone can share my enthusiasm, my aim is to show you that you can do it too.