Find UK Tuition

Marlow Maths Tutor - Experienced tutor serving Bucks & Berks

Marlow Maths Tutor A-level Maths Tutor (Slough)

Marlow Maths Tutor Gold Member

  • Greater Marlow (SL7) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 13 Aug 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Chiltern, South Bucks, Windsor and Maidenhead
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification Open University Mathematics & IT degree

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am married and live in Marlow with two children, attending Sir William Borlase and Great Marlow. Maths tutoring started with my own children and has paid off handsomely with the results they have achieved.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Mathematics at all academic levels, including certain Level 1 & 2 Open University Degree modules.
Tell me about your qualifications.
BSC Bachelor of Science Open
OU Certificate In Mathematics
Diploma Computer Studies
What kind of experience do you have?
I started tutoring my own children plus those of friends and work colleagues. The comments and results were all positive hence I decided to 'branch out' and advertise my tutoring services to the big wide world. It was a scary thing at the time but it's one of the most rewarding things I've ever done and thoroughly enjoy it. I currently have 12 students that I see once a week (some from tutoring websites and the others via referrals) but will do my best to help others if possible.
How much do you charge?
£45 per hour and the fee includes my travel to and from the student's home (barring extreme distances). My sessions have always been one-to-one hence I've never had to offer a group discount but I'd be open to the idea.
Where do you teach?
I teach in the student's home - I think it's a much better environment in which the student can concentrate. I cover a 8 mile radius of Marlow so that stretches to Maidenhead, High Wycombe, Loudwater, Beaconsfield and the towns between.
When are you available?
I work 9-5 on weekdays for my 'day' job hence my tutoring hours are 5:15 onwards on weekdays and any time at the weekend.

UPDATE 29-May-18
Exams are now in full swing and I'll be losing 7 students by the end of June hence several slots will become available then..
Which ages and levels do you teach?
From 11+ to A level, from young person to adult. If the student is keen to learn then I'm very happy to tutor them.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
11+, GCSE (Foundation & Higher), IGCSE, A Level and certain degree modules from the Open University (all Mathematics).
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
No certificate. I'm currently a Software Engineer for a Broking Software company and hence don't require one for my day job.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I haven't gone down the route of on-line tutoring. My personal preference is one-to-one however who knows in the future !
Where and with whom did you train?
Just through my own experience from tutoring my own (and others') children, followed by students and adults from tutoring websites.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I tutor 2 students each week day after my 'day job' and two students on Saturday mornings, hence 12 in total. 7 of them are taking A level and the others are a mixture of 11+ and GCSE.
Do you have a personal message for students?
Don't be scared of Mathematics, it's just like riding a bike - the more you practice it, the easier it gets.