Find UK Tuition

Maths/ Further Maths Tutor in Notting Hill/ W London - Krysia

Krysia A-level Maths Tutor (West London)

Krysia Gold Member

  • Notting Hill (W2) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 10 Apr 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Web site: www.kwtuition.co.uk
  • Can Travel To: Hammersmith and Fulham, Westminster
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification MA (Hons) MSc
  • Professional Qualification PGCE
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS
  • Professional Membership The Tutors' Association (MTA)
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am an enthusiastic and experienced tutor with an honours degree in maths from St Andrews University. I vary the way I work depending on the student. Knowing how many students worry about not being good enough I aim to make maths more accessible.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach maths only. That is the subject my first degree is in.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have an MA (Hons) degree in Maths from St Andrews University, a PGCE to teach maths from Durham University and an MSc in Information Processing from York University. The latter degree included Decision Maths.
What kind of experience do you have?
I taught in a tertiary college in County Durham. The courses were O level, A level Maths and BTEC National Applied Statistics. The college was open to all ages and I did teach adults in standard classes and also in evening classes.

I have tutored since my undergraduate days. In the last 10 years I have dedicated more time to maths tuition and maths-related activities. I have taught students following GCSE, IGCSE, AS and A2 maths courses as well as IB Maths Studies and Maths Standard. The boards for the former courses include Edexcel, AQA and OCR.

I also copy edit and proofread maths textbooks for educational publishers like Pearson and OUP. I have been heavily involved in the textbooks for the new A level and GCSE maths courses. I note that the new courses are very similar to the old O level and A level courses I taught before.
How much do you charge?
My initial meeting is free. This gives us a chance to meet, to identify why the tuition is required and to agree a way forward. In that way the first paid session has a focus and the work starts immediately. Because I am an independent tutor I am not hamstrung by an imposed house-style and can pursue an entirely student-centred approach.

Prices start from £50 per hour.
Where do you teach?
I teach in students' homes mainly, but occasionally offer tuition in my home. The distances I am willing to travel depend on how easily I can get to the destination.
When are you available?
My availability varies depending on my schedule. I am available during the day and evenings.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I prefer to teach students who are following GCSE, AS, A level and IB maths courses. I enjoy tailoring the sessions and the material to suit the individual. And of course I am delighted to work with adults.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I have prepared students for maths GCSE, IGCSE, AS and A level including Further Pure, and IB exams.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, I do have an up-to-date DBS certificate.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am a member of The Tutors' Association.
Where and with whom did you train?
I trained to teach at Durham University.