Find UK Tuition

Maths Tutor in Dore, Sheffield - Linzi Henry

Linzi Henry A-level Maths Tutor (Sheffield)

Linzi Henry

  • Dore and Totley (S17) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 26 Jul 2018
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a professional maths tutor with 30 years of experience. I break maths down into small steps to make it understandable or I set hard challenges to stretch students. My approach is to teach using real-life problems, and past exam questions.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach mathematics and numeracy.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a degree in maths from Cambridge University. My A-levels were Maths with Mechanics, Pure Maths, Further Maths, Physics and Art.
What kind of experience do you have?
For 30 years I have been working as a private tutor teaching secondary age children and adults. Most of my work has been in preparing students for A-level or GCSE exams. I also have experience of iGCSE ( including further maths ) and the QTS numeracy tests. I have also taught the OCR FSMQ qualification. My students have been of different abilities from high-fliers to those who found maths very difficult, sometimes because they had dyslexia or Asperger's Syndrome. I treat every student as an individual.

I also write and publish maths resources that have been used in colleges and schools throughout the country.
How much do you charge?
£27 for GCSE and KS3
£30 for Maths A-level
£33 for Further Maths A level
Where do you teach?
I teach at my home in Dore, Sheffield, South Yorkshire. My local students have come from Totley, Bradway, Broomhill, Dronfield, Chesterfield, Barlow, Baslow ( Derbyshire ) and Barnsley.
I also teach online which means I have delivered lessons around the globe.

Exam paper feedback - I can also mark completed past papers and return them with detailed feedback to help you see where improvements can be made.
When are you available?
Mondays to Fridays 9am to 7.30pm GMT
I am available during school holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Anyone 11 years or older
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE, iGCSE, FSMQ, iGCSE further maths, AS-level, A-level Maths and Further Maths, QTS numeracy, Functional Skills numeracy
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I use the Webex site as it has an interactive whiteboard where I can load files to share with my students. They can also load files. We can chat online easily without using Skype. I send a link before each lesson which students open to sign in. I am happy to do a free short trial for you to see how this works. Together we work through questions and I can write my working using a graphics tablet so that it appears on the student's screen.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am an active member of Maths Tutors UK which I find very helpful for keeping up to date with changes to the maths curriculum and for providing support in all aspects of tutoring.
Where and with whom did you train?
My parents were both teachers. I have learnt how to teach by enjoying doing it over a long time period.
Tell me about some of your current students.
Many of my students are from local schools. At the moment I tutor lot of y11s as the school is working them hard to prepare them for the new tougher GCSE. They cover a range of abilities from exceptional to good.

I have a home educated student whom I have been teaching online for two years. We are working on further maths A-level this year.
Do you have a personal message for students?
If you are lucky enough to have a tutor it is down to you to make the best use of their time. Your results will be the product of YOUR effort. When you open that envelope on results' day you need to feel that whatever grade you get you did your best. A tutor can help you develop your talents if you have the willingness to work hard to improve your outcomes.