Find UK Tuition

English and Maths tuition in North London

Xanthi Barker GCSE Maths Tutor (North West London)

Xanthi Barker

  • Kentish Town (NW5) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 24 Mar 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: City of London, Hackney, Haringey, Islington, Westminster
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I operate on the premise that an engaged, entertained student is most able to concentrate and most open to learning new ideas. Lessons should be fun, focused and illuminating.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach Maths, English and Science from KS1 up to GCSE and Philosophy up to A Level. I have experience homeschooling in each of these subjects.

I have a variety of 11+ and 13+ experience, having tutored students for entry to the following schools: UCS, Highgate, Westminster, CLSB, CLSG, Harrow, St Pauls, Henrietta Barnett and Dame Alice Owen.

I specialise in Maths and English GCSE.
Tell me about your qualifications.
11 GCSEs (A*-A)
AS Level Further Maths (A)
A Level Maths (A), Physics (A), Philosophy (A)
BA (International) Hons. Philosophy (First Class) at University of Leeds.
MA Comparative Literary Studies (Distinction) at Goldsmiths University.
What kind of experience do you have?
A former Worshipful Company of Shipwrights' Scholar at City of London School for Girls, I graduated from Leeds University with a first class degree in Philosophy in 2011 and went on to study an MA in Comparative Literature at Goldsmiths. I have experience both tutoring and mentoring, including residential work, home-schooling and pro bono, for the Ministry of Stories.

I have worked as a private tutor for over six years, working with over 100 students studying for 7+, 11+ and 13+ entrance examinations, Maths, English and Science GCSEs and A Level and degree level Philosophy.

I volunteer as a creative writing mentor at The Ministry of Stories in East London, where school children (aged 8-17) attend workshops in story-making. As a mentor, I give one-on-one coaching to students as they write their story, play, or newspaper articles. Many children have low literacy skills but we encourage them to use their imaginations and often, by the end of a session, they are vowing to write stories every day.

I tutored fellow students during my undergraduate at The University of Leeds, particularly focusing on essay writing, helping many students progress from below average to very high grades.

Whilst working as a nanny, I taught maths and literacy skills to children between Key Stage 1 and 2, helping them, not only with exams, but to gain a further understanding of the work they completed in class each day.
How much do you charge?
£40 KS1 - GCSE
£50 A Level
+£25 for extra student
No charge for travel under an hour. Travel over an hour charged at negotiable rate.
Where do you teach?
Areas covered include Central, North and North West London.
When are you available?
I'm currently available weekday evenings and anytime during the school holidays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I can teach children aged 5-18, depending on subject.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
11+
13+
SATs
GCSE
A Level
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Tell me about some of your current students.
A selection of case studies of former and current students:

Oliver (15 years old) twice weekly support and exam practice for Maths GCSE.
Jack: (11 years old) after-school tutoring twice weekly for six months leading up to 11+ tests covering Maths, English and Reasoning. Gained a place at CLSB school.
Adele: (9 years old) after-school tutoring for one academic year in Maths. Moved from the third to the first set.
James: (8 years old) weekly sessions to improve spelling, grammar and general interest in literature.
Matt: (13 years old) a high-achieving student who wanted extra help and challenges in English and Maths.
Ali: (17 years old) very dyslexic, concentrated on writing and literacy skills to improve confidence.
Tracy: (18 years old) tutored intensively for Philosophy A Level. Went from a predicted B to an A grade.
Elliott: (11 years old) tutored for 11+, simulating exam conditions and coaching verbal/non-verbal reasoning. Gained a place at St Pauls School.
Edward: (14 years old) study support as missed school due to illness. Intensive Maths and English work. Predicted A*-A for GCSE.
Lara: (7 years old) home-schooling during the summer holidays as she had missed most of year 2 due to illness, covering English, Maths and also some Ethics.
Megan: (16 years old) home-schooling Maths GCSE course (Edexcel IGCSE Syllabus) over one academic year, to a student who had struggled significantly with Maths during school, and had subsequently dropped out. She is now on track for an A grade.