Find UK Tuition

Maya Aviram - German Lessons in Kingston, Surrey / SW London

Maya Aviram A-level German Tutor (Kingston upon Thames)

Maya Aviram Silver Member

  • Norbiton (KT1) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 04 Jun 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Mole Valley, Richmond upon Thames
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a native speaker of German with over 25 years experience in teaching school-age pupils and more mature students. I teach in schools, colleges, companies and on a one-to-one basis in the UK.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach German at all levels, from beginners to advanced. I also teach modern Hebrew, usually on a 1 to 1, 'tailor-made' basis.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a Certificate in Education from the University of Greenwich and a Certificate in the Teaching of European Languages (German) from Trinity College London. I studied German and English at the Hebrew University in Jerusalem.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been teaching 6th-formers at secondary schools, students at colleges for Further Education, Kingston University and in Adult Education centres, preparing them for their GCSE and A-level exams. However, I also teach or coach private students, on a a one to one basis, and groups of learners in businesses, adapting to the specific requirements of the companies. When teaching private students, I am very flexible at working according to their individual needs and personal goal.
How much do you charge?
The fees mentioned apply to lessons given at my home. An additional fee will be applicable if the student requests tuition at his/her home. This will be dependent on the distance (max. 6 miles from my home). Group lessons are also possible. The fee would remain the same for the session, divided by the number of students participating.
Where do you teach?
I normally teach from home (in Kingston upon Thames, about 10 minutes walk from Kingston Town Centre) but am willing to visit students at home within a radius of up to 5 miles. Please see above for extra charges beyond the (free) 2 miles radius.
When are you available?
My work schedule changes annually depending on where and how many hours I teach in the various schools. I am quite flexible, however, and could fit in sessions in the mornings, afternoons and also some evenings. Although I prefer to keep school holidays free, I am often available to teach during those as well. I am sure we can find a suitable time for both of us.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach all age groups, usually from age 11 and up. My main experience is working with 16 year olds and above (up to 70+). However, I have also worked with younger children. I teach Beginners, GCSE, AS and A-level and the so called 'German Circle'- level for the very advanced students with near-native speaker's knowledge of German.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE, AS and A-level for German for various exam boards. I have worked as a teacher-examiner for the Edexcel exam board's oral exam and am also very familiar with the AQA exam board requirements and the iGCSEs.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I prefer to work with my students face to face (this is the fun side of teaching after all and an essential part of communication). However, to fill in any gaps - e.g. if there is follow-on work required or feedback on written work etc. - I am more than happy to work also through emails or on Skype.
Where and with whom did you train?
I received my teaching certificate through the University of Greenwich, having studied part-time for the first half of the certificate in my local 'Kingston College' (City&Guilds Teaching Certificate). Since then I have taken several relevant courses for teaching foreign languages, including 'The Trinity College Certificate in Teaching Modern Foreign Languages' and weekend courses and workshops (such as 'Drama in Language Teaching' and more).
Tell me about some of your current students.
I have a very eclectic group of private students currently. My most advanced student is currently working towards and preparing for the Goethe Institute C2 (very advanced) qualification. Another (adult) student started from complete beginners' level with me, on a 1 to 1, once a week basis, about 20 months ago and we can already hold free conversations. Other private students are often GCSE and A-level students who've been coming to me once a week over the past year or two and feel that having a chance to learn grammar more thoroughly or practise their German in a less judgemental environment with me, boosts their ability and confidence.
Do you have a personal message for students?
Although language learning can be challenging, it is also fun and very rewarding once you can try out your new skills in the home countries of the languages. In my experience as a keen traveler, being able to communicate with people in their mother tongue opens doors and hearts. It shows you care about their culture and country. It's also increasingly a very valued additional skill to add to your c.v. I hope to be able to help you to enjoy your language learning experience and achieve your personal goal. I am currently trying to teach myself some 'holiday Italian'! So I can really empathise with my students...