Find UK Tuition

Megan Skinner - Piano/ Flute/ Sax Teacher in Hastings

Megan I Skinner Classical Piano Teacher (Tonbridge)

Megan I Skinner Gold Member

  • Hollington (TN38) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 31 Mar 2018
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA Hons in Musicology and Languages
  • Professional Qualification MS in Musicology from Oxford University
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check CRB certified
  • Professional Membership EPTA
  • References References are available upon request


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am enthusiastic, highly qualified and totally professional. Teaching is my passion, and enabling others to benefit from my skills is my aim in life.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach music - piano, flute, clarinet, sax, singing, theory (100% pass rate at gr 5!), composition, aural and general musicianship. I also teach languages - I am fluent in German and French and can also offer A-level Italian.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I did my first degree at Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitat. I studied music and languages (French and italian) in German. I followed this with a Master's degree from Oxford University, then a Post-Graduate diploma in Music Teaching in the Private Practice. Then came a performance diploma in piano from the London College of Music. Most recently, last year I completed a choral conductor's course with the Association of British Choral Directors.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have taught in schools in Canada, England, Italy and Germany, giving one on one, group and whole class tuition. I have also worked outside education, so my experience is neither blinkered nor stratified.
How much do you charge?
Your first lesson will be free on mention of the Tutor Pages. Normally lessons would take place in my home, though I am willing to travel to pupils. In this case there would be a surcharge to cover my time and expenses.
Where do you teach?
I teach generally at home, where I have a fully equipped studio. I am situated in St Leonards-on-Sea East Sussex.
When are you available?
At the moment I am available Wednesday Thursday and Friday, though special arrangements can be made for weekend lessons. I am also happy to teach, by arrangement, through school holidays. During the summer break, I often do block tuition to give pupils that extra bit of help, and keep them motivated in what is often down time for them.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach all ages - my youngest pupil was 3.5 years old whwn she started, my eldest in his 70s. I also teach all levels, from beginner through diploma/university. I also mentor more advanced pupils to become teachers.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I prepare pupils for whichever qualification is appropriate for their age and subject.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
My latest DBS was issued 11 March 2016. I have also done a Child Safeguarding course.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I teach via Skype online.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
European Piano Teacher's Association.
Where and with whom did you train?
Far too many to list! I am happy to answer this question to anyone who would like to know.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I have the usual broad range of pupils - children and adults, people doing lessons just for fun, people doing lessons with goals in mind. At the moment, I am teaching right through the age and ability spectrum, from age 5 and beginner through to diploma level. I also have several pupil with special needs, including dyslexia.
Do you have a personal message for students?
My aim is twofold - first and foremost for you to enjoy our work together, and secondly for you to make the best progress of which you are able.