Find UK Tuition

Melissa Mansfield - SEN/ SpLD/Dyslexia/English Tutor,Bexley, SE London

Melissa Mansfield Dyslexia Tutor (Dartford)

Melissa Mansfield Gold Member

  • Central Bexley (DA5) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 21 Apr 2018
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA Hons English and European Literature
  • Professional Qualification Post-Graduate Certificate in Education; Qualified Teacher and Lecturer Status (QTLS); Dip in Specific Learning Difficulties/Dyslexia
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Full DBS - yes
  • Professional Membership PATOSS; Dyslexia Guild; National Handwriting Association
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am an experienced and qualified special needs teacher and assessor of adults and children with SpLD/dyslexia. I teach, administer dyslexia screening and tests for exam access arrangements. I have trained with the National Handwriting Association.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Study skills
Assistive technology
Dyslexia
Dyspraxia
SEN
Handwriting
Literacy
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have the OCR Diploma in Specific Learning Difficulties, QTLS (qualified teacher and lecturer status), the PGCE, an MPhil and BA Hons in Literature. I attend numerous professional courses run by the National Handwriting Association, PATOSS and the Dyslexia Guild.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have 25 years of experience teaching and assessing in schools and further education. I work with a variety of ages. I am also an experienced assessor of exam access arrangements.
How much do you charge?
I charge £60 per hour at my home. I travel at an additional cost of £25 per hour.
Where do you teach?
I prefer to work from home but will travel at additional cost.
When are you available?
Weekdays and Saturdays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
6 years - adult. I work with all levels from beginning readers to A level and university students. I also work in a further education college and a university part-time.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a full up-to-date DBS.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I am happy to tutor online through Skype and would be happy to discuss any other arrangements.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I belong to the Professional Association of Teachers of Students with Specific Learning Difficulties (PATOSS) and the Dyslexia Guild.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I have worked with many adults who have learning support needs which have never been identified. 1/10 people nationally are estimated to be dyslexic. I am also working with primary school and lower secondary school children who have difficulties of a dyslexic or dyspraxic nature.
Do you have a personal message for students?
My beliefs and approach can be summarised in the following statement:

"If you don't learn how I teach, I will teach how you learn". Before teaching I will assess likes/dislikes and strengths/areas for development. The focus is on the individual pupil or student.