Find UK Tuition

Confidence builder in maths, English and ICT - Wakefield area

Michelle Poole 4 IT Key Stage 2 Maths Tutor (Wakefield)

Michelle Poole 4 IT

  • Ossett (WF5) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 07 Jul 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Barnsley, Doncaster, Kirklees, Leeds, Selby
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I really enjoy working with children and building up their confidence with maths. My teaching experience has been with children at Key Stage 2 in Mathematics; taking one from below average to above average in one year.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I am a qualified IT tutor and am competent with both English and Mathematics; primarily up to Year 7.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I am qualified to degree level: BSc (Hons) in Education and Training. Teaching qualifications Level 5 - Certificate in Education Subject matter qualifications: IT - Level 3 - ECDL Advanced Expert - GCSE Grade A Mathematics - Additional qualifications: ILM Coaching Level 3, Customer Services NVQ Level 3.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been teaching since 2000 where I worked in the community; teaching adults of all ages from 18 years. I have helped my children throughout their school years; through primary and junior school and now High School. I have purchased, researched and designed tools for learning to support the learning taking place in schools.
How much do you charge?
My charges are as per my profile but would offer a free consultation to anyone considering using my services. I would be open to negotiation for group lessons and also block bookings too. I charge mileage at 45p per mile.
Where do you teach?
I carry out teaching in the student's home and cover the West Yorkshire area. I live in Wakefield and am happy to travel up to 15 miles to tutor a student. Areas such as Leeds, Castleford, Pontefract, Huddersfield and Barnsley.
When are you available?
I am available during the hours of 10am and 8pm Monday to Friday. Weekends can be negotiated in exceptional cases but the charge would reflect this.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I am an experienced adult tutor (18+). I am also available for children who may be struggling in Key Stage 2/3.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
SATs as well as OCN, BCS and OCR qualifications.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
No, as a private individual this is not available but have held one previously.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am a member of the Institute for Learning with QTLS status (which is recognised as being equivalent to QTS for mainstream school).
Tell me about some of your current students.
My current students are primarily girls, aged 9/10 and mathematics. I do however do reading and english with other students. I find that the reinforcement, 121 and relaxed yet productive hours increase confidence both in themselves as well as their attitude to the subject. Visible results are seen by both parents and teachers alike.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I work to reinforce the learning from school; introducing new topics or working with school for the benefit of your child. You have a say in what we cover and I work with you to increase your confidence, skills and love of the subject. Working with teachers is possible together with working with reports and recommendations from the school.