Find UK Tuition

Mike - Maths Tuition (all levels) in London (Central/East) and Essex

Mike Brown MBA Tutor (Southend on Sea)

Mike Brown Gold Member

  • Hadleigh (SS7) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 22 Oct 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Web site: needmathshelp.co.uk
  • Can Travel To: Barking and Dagenham, Basildon, Brentwood, Chelmsford, City of London, Epping Forest, Havering, Redbridge, Southend-on-Sea
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA (Hons) Cambridge
  • Professional Qualification Graduate Diploma (Distinction) Royal Statistical Society
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
patient, flexible, confidence-boosting maths and stats tuition
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach maths, finance and statistics-based courses, particularly for undergraduate and MBA students, but I also cover GCSE, A-level Mathematics and Further Mathematics, graduate numeracy testing such as the QTS professional skills test for teacher training, and quantitative methods, econometrics and statistics modules required for degrees in economics, business, social science, psychology, engineering and more. This has proven particularly useful for students who need data analysis (SPSS, Minitab etc) for their degree projects, or who need help with the mathematical elements of courses in finance or engineering.

I have undergraduate qualifications in science so feel free to enquire particularly about KS3 and GCSE Science, and A-level Physics. Students finding mathematics difficult often have associated struggles in science subjects. As I have lectured at a technical college my natural teaching style is to incorporate lots of practical, "real-world" examples to help boost relevance and understanding. As a result there is often a synergy between making progress in maths and science subjects!
Tell me about your qualifications.
BA (Hons), University of Cambridge
Diploma in Statistics (Distinction), Open University
Diploma in Natural Science (Distinction), Open University
Graduate Diploma in Statistics (Distinction), Royal Statistical Society
Postgraduate Certificate in Education (11-18 Mathematics), University of East Anglia
What kind of experience do you have?
I am a qualified teacher who has worked as a school teacher and college lecturer. My PGCE prepared me for teaching maths at 11-18, and I have worked in schools teaching KS3 (SATs), GCSE Maths and GCSE Statistics, and A-level Mathematics and Further Mathematics. As a technical college lecturer, I delivered a wide range of courses: GCSE for adult learners, Adult Numeracy Certificate, Access (including Medical Statistics), BTECs (including Business, Computing, Construction), HNC Construction, as well as FSMQ and A-level Maths and Further Maths.

Across the years I have broadened my experience as a tutor by work with primary school children as well as university students (with a focus on their mathematics, statistics and econometrics modules). I have tutored many students for the quantitative methods and financial mathematics courses for MBA degrees, but other subjects have included economics, mathematics, psychology, business, marketing, sports science, astrophysics, biology, medicine, finance and public administration. The universities these courses were at includes Oxford, Cambridge, Imperial, LSE, UCL, Durham, Warwick, Nottingham, Keele, City, Essex, Barts Med School, the Open University and other UK universities, as well as overseas ones such as Grenoble Graduate School of Business, Syracuse (NY), UC Denver and the University of Southern Queensland.

I have taught all major A-level boards (OCR, AQA, MEI and Edexcel) - unfortunately this is particularly important in the Statistics modules, where different boards adopt contradictory definitions and methods! If you are sitting S1, S2 or a higher module, it's wise to ensure your tutor has prior experience of your board's syllabus, as this can be a real maze.
How much do you charge?
My fee is £30/hour for online tuition, or in person if you can travel to me. If I come to you, I will need to pass on some of my travel costs.
Where do you teach?
I primarily tutor in the London (especially east and central London) and Essex areas. While I can provide tuition from my home base in Benfleet, Essex, and I recommend this for students based in the South Essex area, I will travel to London and have worked further afield (e.g. Cambridge) in the past if you've got a sufficiently big project. For university students I prefer to arrange a tuition location on-campus or failing that, in a public space (e.g. a library or cafe). For younger students, I will not tutor in your home unless a responsible adult is present in the house.
When are you available?
I am flexible with timings, but normally tutor university and homeschooled students during weekday daytimes, and school and college students early evenings.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Although I'm well-qualified technically, I enjoy teaching students of all ages and abilities. At the other end of the spectrum to degree-level work, I enjoy working with primary school and KS3 students, with an emphasis on boosting confidence, grasping the basics firmly, and seeing that maths can be fun rather than painful!

Whichever level I am teaching, my aim is to help you build confidence and proficiency at the skills you or your child need. I am very flexible to individual requirements and realise different people have different priorities and learn in different ways - if you need to know why something works I can help you understand it; if all you seek is to "just do it" then you'll get a less theoretical, more hands-on approach to the maths. Some people seek help with exam technique; others want to understand enough statistics to complete a coursework assignment or research project; you might need urgent tuition before your final exams or resits. Just let me know what you need!
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a clear enhanced CRB check (available to view) from my most recent employer, though as it relates to a role that I have since left, I prefer not to claim it as a "current" certificate! I urge all parents to exercise due caution and common sense in respect of any tuition arrangements for their children, rather than placing all trust in a sheet of paper. For example, consider following up references and, in the case of home tuition, please provide a suitable learning space such as a sitting room, dining room or study, rather than ask me to teach your teenage daughter in her own bedroom! If your child is under the age of 18, I will not tutor them in your home unless a responsible adult is present in the house.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I teach online using Skype, so you will need to have a working microphone on your computer or in a separate headset.. I use a free web-based whiteboard system - you can write with your mouse or trackpad, but you may find it useful to use a drawing tablet and stylus, or load the board on a tablet.
Do you have a personal message for students?
You might never find maths as fun or exciting as I do - but even if you can't catch my enthusiasm for it, you don't always need to think that "maths is too hard for me" or that it is useless, painful and confusing. Maths and statistics are useful problem-solving tools, are valuable skills (that can be worth grades and pounds to you!) and ones that, with practice, self-belief and high quality teaching, you can be successful at too!