Find UK Tuition

Mike Chick - Maths Tuition and Exam Coaching in Exeter, Devon

Mike Chick GCSE Maths Tutor (Exeter)

Mike Chick Gold Member

  • Whipton & Barton (EX4) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 11 Jan 2018
  • Sex: Male
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BSc Chemical Engineering, Aston University
  • Professional Qualification PGCE Mathematics - Exeter University
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check CRB checked - part time teacher
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Hello. I have been a maths teacher and private tutor since 2006. I love to teach, especially in small groups and 1-2-1. I improve pupil's grades by focussing on exams and building confidence.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach maths from KS1 upto and including GCSE ,IGCSE, and A Level. I can really help with exam technique and building confidence. I also prepare students for school entrance exams such as 11+.
Tell me about your qualifications.
PGCE Maths from Exeter University. I also have A-Level pure maths. BSc(hons) Chemical Engineering - University of Aston in Birmingham.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have taught in a state secondary school and also in a small private school in Exeter. I have private tutored for many years and love to see a pupil grow in confidence as their understanding improves. Also, I home educated 2 of my daughters several years ago.
How much do you charge?
I charge £30 per hour for KS1-4. My GCSE 9-1 video lessons are available from my website www.mikesmaths.com at £6 each.. I am willing to discuss discounts for small groups.
Where do you teach?
I mainly teach from home, although I can travel if it is within Exeter, but I do need to charge for the time taken to travel to a students home. I can teach students vis Skype and currently have clients in the IK and Spain.
When are you available?
I will try to make myself as available as possible, and am willing to teach during school holidays. I would normally work from 4-9pm any day except Wednesday during term time.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I am willing to teach any age. I can teach any level upto and including A Level.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I can prepare students for SATs and GCSE exams, as well as entrance exams, including 11+ and 13+. Also I prepare students for A level.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, I am CRB checked as I still work part time for a school.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
Please visit my website www.mikesmaths.com to see how I can help.
Where and with whom did you train?
I trained at ISCA College of Media Arts in Exeter, and St. Margaret's School, Exeter. I finished my NQT training at St. Wilfrid's school, Exeter.
Do you have a personal message for students?
My strength is in building confidence and really focusing on helping you to pass exams and to get the best possible grade. I specifically teach about exam technique and have access to many past papers in order to help. If you don't live in Devon then check out my website www.mikesmaths.com to see how I can help you.