Find UK Tuition

Miss H. Kirk - 11+ tutor in Exeter

Hettie 11+ exam Tutor (Exeter)

Hettie Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification University of Exeter
  • Professional Qualification University of Oxford
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS checked
  • Professional Membership Prince's Trust Enterprise Programme
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a dedicated, reliable and enthusiastic full time tutor. I specialise in 11+ / 13+ exam preparation, all core subjects at primary level and GCSE English and maths.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Maths and English (Key stage 1 and 2 / primary) - this includes SATs.
11+ exam preparation (non-verbal reasoning, verbal reasoning, English and maths).
Key Stage 3 - English and maths.
GCSE - English and maths.
Entrance exams for selective schools including the 7+, 9+, 11+ & 13+.
I prepare students for both grammar and independent school entrance exams and hold mock exams for the 11+ in Exeter.
Tell me about your qualifications.
University of Exeter - 2.1 BA (Hons) Management with English
University of Oxford - Effective Online Tutoring (completed 2015)
What kind of experience do you have?
I have helped several students excel in exams and gain confidence in their learning overall. I am committed to seeing all my students succeed and shine with the achievement of having done so.

Regular feedback is provided throughout tuition and a learning plan is put in place from the initial lesson and first meeting. There are a number of parent testimonials on my website and I have extensive experience in online tuition.
How much do you charge?
Both in person and online tuition is from £37 p/h.

For group tuition, there is a discounted rate but a minimum number of tutees is required.

11 plus mock exams are held in Exeter each spring and summer.
Where do you teach?
I teach at student homes in Exeter but also travel to Topsham, Crediton and Broadclyst.
I also tutor online 3 days a week.

In terms of travelling to student homes, I drive up to a 10 mile radius outside Exeter (at no extra cost) but this is obviously dependent on whether it is feasible due to my schedule at the time.

For families who live outside the 10 mile radius of Exeter and would prefer in person tuition, then I can tutor in Exeter or at a mutually convenient halfway point.
When are you available?
I teach throughout the week but certain days are allocated for online tuition only.

Short-term tuition and holiday revision block sessions can be arranged but please book in advance for these.

Saturday mornings and afternoons are available but I only tutor online on Sundays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Ages 5-11 (Primary level English and maths)

11+ and 13+ entrance exams - English and maths

14+ GCSE - maths and English
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
9+ exams (independent school assessments)

11+ exams (CEM grammar and independent school assessments)

13+ exams (ISEB assessments)

Key Stage 2: English, maths and science

SATs preparation
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes - DBS checked and fully insured.
References can also be provided upon request.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I tutor online from my office via Skype. As with all my lessons, I provide course materials and these are sent across digitally prior to the start of the lesson. There may be a few textbooks that I recommend but these are normally minimal and I always seek out the very best books for each student.

If geographically possible, I meet parents and students in person before online tuition commences. I set homework on the topics covered in the lesson to consolidate understanding and encourage greater independent learning.

Having tutored several students online, some of whom were tutored in person by me initially, many saw minimal / no difference to their tuition and several families have mentioned how easy it is to organise and fit into their schedules.

In 2015, I qualified in Effective Online Tutoring from the University of Oxford. I have extensive experience in tutoring online and work with students from across the UK and further afield.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
Prince's Trust Enterprise Programme.
Where and with whom did you train?
University of Exeter (2011)
University of Oxford (2015) Effective Online Tutoring
Tell me about some of your current students.
My current students are from the ages of 8 to 19.

I have several students who are preparing for the 11 plus exam in September and pupils sitting entrance exams in January 2018. My older students are currently taking GCSE maths and English.

My online tutees are based in Texas, Bermuda, Paris and Portugal currently so I'm hoping to learn a new language soon!
Do you have a personal message for students?
Take confidence in your ability and don't give up on any subject which may seem initially challenging. Sometimes it can only take a different approach in transferring the subject knowledge that will make topics more understandable and most importantly enjoyable.