Find UK Tuition

Mr Banks - Maths/ Economics Tutor in Hitchin

Mr Banks GCSE Maths Tutor (Stevenage)

Mr Banks Gold Member

  • Hitchin (SG4) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 02 Oct 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Bedford, Central Bedfordshire, Milton Keynes, Stevenage
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification Economics: 1st Class BSc (Hons)
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS Enhance
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Hello and welcome to my profile page. My name is David and I would like nothing more than to help you prepare and succeed in your education. I am a friendly and motivated private tutor with over six years of experience teaching all ages.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I tutor students from KS2 upwards and have vast experience preparing students for KS2 SATs, 11+ Entrance Exams, GCSE and A-level.

Subjects I teach and services offered include:

1) Maths (up to A-level)
2) Economics (up to A-level)
3) Business Studies (up to A-level)
4) English (up to GCSE)
5) Science (up to GCSE)
6) Study Skills
7) Exam Technique
8) Personal Revision Management
9) UCAS Statement Preparation
10) Personal Mentor
Tell me about your qualifications.
I gained a 1st Class Economics degree from the Surrey School of Economics.
What kind of experience do you have?
6 years' tuition experience.

Where I've tutored: 1-to-1 at student homes. 1-to-1 at my home. 1-to-1 online. Groups up to 10 at local venues. 1-to-1 tuition at schools. Workshops at schools. Tutored for local study centres. Online webinar revision school tutoring up to 30 students. Teaching foreign exchange students at Cambridge University, Corpus Christi College.


What I've tutored. Some examples include:

Preparing UK students for GCSE and A-level exams. Some subjects include Maths, Economics, Business Studies, Applied Business and Product Design.

Preparing UK students to gain entrance to independent sixth forms such as Epsom College.

Preparing students for 11+ and 13+ Entrance Exams to independent schools such as Bedford Modern School, St Albans Boys and more.

Teaching foreign exchange students iGCSE Maths, Business and Economics at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge University.

Mentoring students and helping with university applications, course choices and UCAS statements. Helping students plan their revision and making sure their revision is time efficient. Designing revision sessions to maximise potential benefit rather than just reading textbooks.
How much do you charge?
Rates start from £28.50. Dependent on how many lessons booked in advance and associated travel costs. I do provide discounts for group lessons depending on group size. Please enquire for more details.
Where do you teach?
Student homes, my home, local venues and online.

I provide home tuition to some of the following areas:

1) Hitchin and surrounding areas e.g. Stevenage, Letchworth, Baldock and other nearby villages
2) Bedford and surrounding areas e.g. Sandy, Shefford, Biggleswade and other nearby villages
3) Milton Keynes and surrounding areas e.g. Newport Pagnell, Bletchley and surrounding villages

If in doubt, please contact me and I will advise if I am able to come to you. I do often make exceptions and am prepared to go further for the right family.
When are you available?
I work full-time hours as this is my full-time business. Therefore, I dedicate my full time to your needs and provide services 7 days a week. Please get in touch so we can agree on a weekly time.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
The youngest I've tutored was aged 7 and eldest was aged 31. I naturally optimise my teaching style for the environment and student being taught.

My service starts from KS2 all the way up to A-level.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
KS2 SATs. 11+ and 13+ Entrance Exams. GCSEs. A-levels. International qualifications such as iGCSE and IB.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, fully up to date and I actually have a DBS Enhanced check.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I tutor via my virtual online classroom. I invite you to my class and we meet online at the scheduled time. I use facilities such as virtual online whiteboard so you feel as if you are in a real classroom. You can engage with the whiteboard so you can answer questions in real-time. My online lessons are very interactive so you will get much work done.

A camera for video conference is optional but not necessary. A good idea is a pair of headphones to help you "escape" from your physical environment and into the virtual lesson. Internet connection on your end does not have to be light speed, but it's helpful if the connection is at least stable and you can stay connected. Something else I would recommend to students is a graphics tablet which can be plugged into your computer. You'll feel as if you're writing in a textbook and enhance the experience. This is especially useful for a subject such as Maths, where we often draw tables, graphs and shapes. These can be purchased quite cheaply and I can always recommend models.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am certain that you will thoroughly enjoy having me as your tutor. I'm very approachable, very friendly and always try to make our lessons fun and interactive. My aim is certainly not to torture you to the point that you hate the subject! Quite the opposite, my approach is to encourage questions and engage you as a learner. I want to stimulate your interest in the subject being studied and this way you will notice your marks will naturally improve.

In summary I will:

1) Make lessons interactive and encourage questions
2) Focus on critical exam techniques
3) Stimulate your interest in the subject studied
4) Ensure that you feel positive about learning