Find UK Tuition

Mr. Sankofa- Sir Mos Maths Tutoring

Sir Mo GCSE Maths Tutor (Croydon)

Sir Mo Gold Member

  • South Croydon (CR2) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 13 Aug 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Bromley, Lambeth, Merton, Sutton, Wandsworth
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BSc (Hons) Economics with Accounting (2:1)
  • Professional Qualification Professional Graduate Certificate in Education, ACA qualification
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS Checked
  • Professional Membership National Union of Teachers, Association of Teachers of Mathematics
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
The overwhelming majority of us are born with fantastic brains. However, the overwhelming majority of us do not use it to its capacity. I will extract every ounce of power that your brain possesses so that you achieve success.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach a wide variety of Maths syllabuses, including the national curriculum from key stages 1 to 5, Cambridge Pre-U Maths and International Baccalaureate Maths
Tell me about your qualifications.
Professional Graduate Certificate in Education (PGCE) - This is my teacher's degree which must be passed to enter the teaching profession

Higher Education - BSc Economics with Accounting 2:1 from Loughborough University (a top 10 ranked University and a member of the prestigious Russell Group

FurtherEducation - A-Level Further Maths (Grade B) and B A-level Maths (Grade B) - My A-levels were studied at St. Francis Xavier College in Clapham South which is a premier inner London College where more than 90% of its students go on to higher education

School Qualifications - 11 GCSEs at grade A* to C, including a grade A in GCSE Maths
What kind of experience do you have?
I have 7 years of experience as a classroom teacher in secondary schools across London and Kent. In September 2017, I elected to become a part time teacher so that I could privately tutor full-time. I believe that maintaining a teaching post gives me an edge over many private tutors who have never taught in school. I have also taught across the age and ability range, from very high achievers down to students with serious physical and mental disabilities. It is rare for me to come across a child that I have no reference point from which to figure out a solution to what is holding them back in their learning. Inner London schools are high pressure environments and pulling out all the stops to get results in these settings makes me perfect for private tuition.
How much do you charge?
My rates vary depending on the age of the child, however I do offer the following concessions.

I offer 25% off if I am tutoring two students at once, and 33% off if I'm working with three students. There is a discount of 10% if a student pays for 10 lessons in advance. With regards to transport, there is no charge if the student lives less than a mile from my home. However, if the student lives more than a mile away, there is a petrol fee of £0.25 per mile.

I am extremely serious about the business of education and am looking to attract families that share my vision. If you would like your child to excel rather than merely pass, to fly rather than plateau, then I definitely fit the bill.
Where do you teach?
I am a local tutor that will accept most jobs that I can reach within 30 minutes. The vast majority of my students live in the London boroughs of Lambeth. Lewisham and Croydon. However, in 2017, around 50% of my students chose to undertake tuition at my home to take advantage of the reduced fees.
When are you available?
Monday - Anytime up until 10pm
Tuesday - 5pm to 10pm Online only
Wednesday 5pm to 10pm Online only
Thursday - Anytime up to 10pm
Saturday - Anytime up to 6pm
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach students from 9 yrs and over. The abilities that I teach range from young children preparing for their key stage two SATs or 11+ right up to 1st year University students studying Mathematical degree modules. In addition, I also have adults on my books who simply wish to brush up on their Maths in order to support their children, or take exams to enter particular professions.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I prepare students for GCSEs, A-levels, Cambridge Pre-U, International Baccaluareate, key skills qualifications, the 11 plus and the professional skills numeracy test for trainee teachers, nurses, etc.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an enhanced disclosure and am a member of the update service.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I use a number of different platforms to tutor online. These include Skype, Bit Paper Lo and zoom. Just as with my face-to-face sessions, lessons are booked in at regular time slots and are taught in a similar style to what I use for face-to-face lessons.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I belong to the National Union of Teachers (NUT), Association of Chartered Accountants and subscribe to the Association of Teachers of Mathematics. As a professional tutor, I also decided to become a member of The Tutors Association and will be attending their annual conference this autumn.
Where and with whom did you train?
I undertook my Professional Graduate Certificate in Education (PGCE) with Greenwich University in 2010/11, which qualifies me to teach in secondary schools.
Tell me about some of your current students.
Sade - I have been tutoring Sade for both years 7 and 8. Her progress has been remarkable. The evidence of this is her being moved up a set in Maths at the end of year 7 and again at the end of year 8 which she has just completed. Sade heads into year 9 with much needed confidence as she can be very hard on herself. Sade seeks perfection in all that she does and I would not bet against her moving up another set at the end of year 9.

Chindalu - After my success in tutoring her older sister through her Maths GCSE, I began working with Chindalu this May. This young lady has a real passion for learning and gets a lot out of our session through sheer enjoyment and the ability to embrace challenges. She is now consistently achieving above 85% in the practice papers which is the benchmark of a student on the path to success in the 11+.

Elliot - I began tutoring Elliot immediately after he finished for this academic year at a top independent boarding school in Windsor. He is studying for the Cambridge Pre-U qualification. Our first lesson was face-to-face but then we moved it online due to the distance involved. He has absolutely loved it and is a massive fan of the video feature which means that he can view the recordings that I have made of our lessons. He has a school test in September when he starts year 13 and he is already full of confidence that he will achieve success.
Do you have a personal message for students?
If you are reading this and think that you can't do Maths, I would like to meet you. Work to master this subject and you will feel like a new person. Private tutoring has huge benefits for this subject and working with somebody who knows and can guide you in a more personable setting can make a huge difference. If you are still sceptical, accept my offer of a free trial and lets get to work. He who dares wins!