Find UK Tuition

Mrs Judith Thomson - English Tutor in Canterbury

Mrs Judith Thomson GCSE English Tutor (Canterbury)

Mrs Judith Thomson Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA Hons, English and American Literature
  • Professional Qualification PGCE Secondary English, Cambridge CELTA
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Enhanced CRB - current
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I aim to build confidence in the key English skills of reading and writing, so that students of all levels can communicate more effectively, achieve better grades, and get pleasure and satisfaction from using English.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
English Language and Literature, including KS3, GCSE, AS/A2 and English as a foreign language. I also have experience supporting dyslexic and dyspraxic students, and mentoring English Literature undergraduates.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have an honours degree in English and American Literature and PGCE Secondary English. I also have a Cambridge CELTA qualification for the teaching of English as a foreign language.
What kind of experience do you have?
I taught English for ten years in state schools - mainly grammar schools but also wide ability - and have now worked for six years as a private tutor to KS3, GCSE and A Level students, as well as international students [adults and young people] learning English as a second language. In particular, I have experience helping dyslexic and dyspraxic students.
How much do you charge?
My standard rate is £30/he for KS3/GCSE tuition, or £35 p/hr for A Level or EFL, at my home - with an extra £5 supplement if I travel up 10 miles to teach. Above a 10 mile radius I charge 45p per mile. My fee includes includes preparation of materials and marking of work that I set; my rationale is that I am a professional providing a high-quality professional service. It also includes periodic reviews of students' progress and needs.
Where do you teach?
I can teach in my own home, with the advantage that here I have access to my books and materials, and we can be guaranteed peace and quite and space for study. I can also visit students in their own home or school within about an 8-10 mile radius of Canterbury.
When are you available?
I am generally available both after school and - for A Level, EFL and home-schooled students - during the school day. I may be available for some limited tuition on Saturdays.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Mostly KS3, GCSE and AS/A2 levels, but also undergraduate and adult learners.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE English Language; GCSE English Literature; A Level English Literature; A Level English Language
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a current CRB disclosure certificate.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am a member of the NASUWT.
Where and with whom did you train?
I obtained my degree after studying as a mature student at the University of Kent at Canterbury and did my teacher training the following year at Canterbury Christchurch University. I studied for the Cambridge Certificate in English language Teaching for Adults [CELTA] at the Concorde Language School, Canterbury in 2009.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I think that I am especially good at motivating and encouraging students who have become disenchanted with English at school, or who lack confidence. I have also worked very successfully with A Level Students who appreciate the opportunity for quality, focussed exploration of texts, and a more detailed personal critique of their skills than is possible in a classroom context. I have also helped dyslexic, dyspraxic and Aspergers students, and home-schooled pupils at GCSE and A Level. The most successful outcomes are when parents, students and tutor are working together as a team. It has been such a privilege to get to know some lovely families this way. However, I have also had a number of very independent and enterprising, self-funding A Level students who have also been a delight to work with.
Do you have a personal message for students?
"Teaching and learning is a two-way process" and "You only get out what you put in": those may seem rather trite statements, but they are both very true! My aim is always to help you to become a confident, more independent learner who is increasingly able to recognise your own strengths and needs and to build from that base through hard work.
I also try to share something of my own enthusiasm for English: you may not end up being as crazy about poetry of Shakespeare as me, but I hope that at least you will begin to appreciate English a bit more as well as use it more effectively.