Find UK Tuition

11+/13+/ GCSE/ AS Level/ Functional Skills/ IELTS/ESOL/ NW London

Mrs. Sonia Jallane 11+ exam Tutor (North West London)

Mrs. Sonia Jallane Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BEd (Hons) English II:II
  • Professional Qualification TEFL Prep. Cert. (for teaching English to Foreign Language Speakers) / Cello Teaching RSA Certificate
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check CRB Clear
  • Professional Membership General Teaching Council/ NUT/ British Council
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am committed to teaching English at all levels, to students of all ages, nationalities and backgrounds. I consider the requirements of individual learners and build programmes around each individual to support their needs.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
English for 11+ English for Entrance Exams;English for GCSE; Introduction to Reading; KS1 English; KS2 English; KS3 English; English at AS/A2 level;Essay writing at University level; English to Foreign Language Speakers; English Grammar;Cambridge First Certificate / Proficiency/ IELTS; Business English.
Tell me about your qualifications.
B Ed Hons in English/ TEFL Prep RSA Certificate / Cello Teaching Diploma LTCL .
What kind of experience do you have?
My experience is extensive. I have taught English and 'cello to private students of all ages, as well as teaching in a number of language schools in my early years. For the last ten years I have been a teacher and co-ordinator of Music and English as a Second language in primary schools in London.When I became self-employed,in 2012, I prepared 11+ /entrance exam candidates for their exams, as well as GCSE 'O' and AS level students and people preparing for IELTS. I spent a very successful academic year (July 2013-July 2014) working with the British Council in France (marked by having the highest return rate of my students in the centre!) My teaching included intensive Easter and Summer courses to Young Learners, all levels of General English, TOEFL English at the Ecole Centrale (a technical University) and English to medical professionals at the Roman Ferrari Burns' Centre.The year provided me valuable insight into how English is taught in Europe and has influenced my approach to teaching ESOL learners coming to Britain. Since my return, I have worked with a diverse range of English learners, from teaching a young illiterate adult learner how to read and write and helping her to prepare for her Citizenship exam, which she passed; to helping an MA student prepare essays; to successfully tutoring a number of 11+ candidates, all of whom were accepted at the schools of their choice. I am currently involved in planning a project as an English consultant to an organisation abroad.
How much do you charge?
£45 an hour / £60 for an hour and a half basic
Where do you teach?
I teach from home. My immediate area is St John's Wood/ Swiss Cottage/ Kilburn/ W. Hampstead area.
When are you available?
I am self employed, so am flexible. I am available to work with children, after school and in holidays.I also teach a range of adults during the day.
In addition, I offer short homestay teaching to students from abroad, generally from 2 weeks to a month at a time.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
All ages, all levels.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
Key Stage 2 SATs/ 11+/ 13+ Common Entrance exams/ A/S level/ Degree level/ ESOL : Cambridge First Certificate / Proficiency/ IELTS;
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I updated it in March 2017. All clear.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I have tutored on Skype, very successfully.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I belong to LinkedIn and a number of English Teaching related websites.
Where and with whom did you train?
I gained a teaching degree in English B.Ed (Hons) from Westminster College, Oxford and received my TEFL Prep. Certificate at International House in London.
In my early days in London, I studied with eminent cellists Eileen Croxford RCM; Stefan Popov Guildhall; and Christopher Bunting RCM.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I have been highly successful in my recent teaching of 11+ students, where every child taught got into the school of their choice, following a highly structured programme of study. In addition, I have also had a selection of GCSE students in the last year, who have greatly increased their academic level, as well as their confidence,after working with me.
In my year abroad with the British Council (2013 - 14), my teaching included intensive Easter and Summer courses to Young Learners, all levels of General English; TOEFL English at a technical University; and English to medical professionals in a specialist Medical Centre. The year provided me with valuable insight into how English is taught in Europe.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I love teaching. I like to work with students in meeting whatever challenges they present and personalising my teaching to each individual's need. Students enjoy my intensive, but humorous style and the chance to work hard and make progress to achieve their goals. Many are still in touch with me, years after completing their studies. Adapting my style to your personal need, I play to your strengths and build confidence to tackle areas of weakness. Literature or Language - I can help you enjoy the subject, whether you are just beginning, or at an advanced level. I look forward to meeting you!