Find UK Tuition

Naomi - Medical School Applications, Science/ Maths Tutor Clapham

Naomi Watson Medical Sciences Tutor (South West London)

Naomi Watson

  • Clapham North (SW4) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 17 Sep 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Barnet, Bromley, City of London, Croydon, Kensington and Chelsea, Merton, Southwark, Wandsworth, Westminster
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am in my 6th year studying Medicine at St Hugh's College, Oxford. Throughout my postgraduate years I have mentored prospective medicine students, and thus have a great deal of experience in the preparation required for medical school applications.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach UKCAT and BMAT preparation, as well as more general medical school application support, including personal statement guidance and interview preparation. I teach Medical Sciences to undergraduate level, and Chemistry, Biology and Music to A-level.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a BA (Hons) in Medical Sciences from the University of Oxford, and am working towards a BMBCh (oxon) in Medicine. I have A-level qualifications in Chemistry, Biology, Mathematics and Music, all at A*.
What kind of experience do you have?
I teach Medical Biology to international 6th form students at an intensive academic summer school in Oxford. I also play an active role in Oxbridge interview preparation courses, leading workshops, discussions, and conducting mock interviews. I have been tutoring privately since I started medical school, mainly in A level Chemistry and Biology, and have had excellent results to date. Having undertaken A levels still rather recently, I am acutely aware of the challenges presented by these courses, and the best strategies for tackling them.
How much do you charge?
I charge £50 per hour for individual lessons, or £30 per student for group lessons. I am happy to travel with no additional cost.
Where do you teach?
I teach at home, or am happy to travel to areas near Clapham, Battersea or South Kensington.
When are you available?
I am available to tutor week days and evenings, with the option of weekends on an occasional basis.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I am comfortable teaching students of any age and ability.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
Undergraduate degrees, A levels, GCSEs.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I am happy to tutor via skype.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I take a three-stranded approach to tutoring. Firstly, structured learning is the key to success. Organization and planning are vital, yet often students' greatest weaknesses. My initial priority is to comprise a detailed work plan with the student, and then divide the material into manageable 'chunks', a technique proven to produce maximal retainment of knowledge. Secondly, understanding a subject rather than purely memorising facts, is fundamental to learning. Finally, I have always enjoyed learning, and believe that my students should too. I employ a range of different teaching and studying methods to keep tutorials fun, interactive, and productive.