Find UK Tuition

Nathan Williams

Nathan Williams University History Tutor (Bristol)

Nathan Williams Silver Member

  • Central Bristol (BS8) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 05 Sep 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Bath and North East Somerset, North Somerset, South Gloucestershire
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA (Hons) History (The University of Liverpool)
  • Professional Qualification MA in Modern History (King's College, London)
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Enhanced CRB Certified
  • Professional Membership Chartered Institute of Insurers
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I'm a friendly, engaging and dynamic tutor and coach with over 9 years' experience in tutoring History and Law, and 4 years' experience in Life, Career, Management and Executive coaching.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
History (All levels up to and including Masters degree level)
Law (All levels up to and including LLM level)
Proof Reading
Essay Writing
Coaching (Life, Career, Management & Executive)
Research Skills
Job Application/CV/Personal Statement/Covering letter advice
Interview advice/Assessment Centre preparation
Tell me about your qualifications.
Post-Graduate Diploma in Coaching & Leadership from the University of Cambridge, 2016-17
Graduate Diploma in Banking Practice & Management from the International School of Finance, 2012-2015
Graduate Diploma in Law from the University of Birmingham, 2007-8.
MA in Modern History from King's College, London, 2006-7.
BA (Hons) in History from the University of Liverpool, 2002-5
A Levels: (English Literature, History and Physics) from the Sir Henry Floyd Grammar School, Aylesbury, 2000-2002.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have over 9 years experience of tutoring the above to A-Level students, undergraduates, Masters students and professionals of all ages. I have high expectations of myself and my students, and have been told that my approach to tutoring makes the sessions highly enjoyable, and enables the student to stretch themselves, which has really helped my student's personal and academic development.

As a coach, I have 4 years' experience iin the fields of Life, Career, Management and Executive coaching. My current coachees include a range of undergraduates and professionals in the first or second management or executive positions. My coachees have often fed back to me that I'm very warm, but challenging and goal-focused.
How much do you charge?
All lessons, except those where professional assistance for CVs, interviews, assessment centres, etc are concerned, are £25 an hour. I'm willing to travel, and often tutor or coach via skype.
Where do you teach?
I'm based in west-central Bristol, and am willing to travel up to 20 miles for face-to-face lessons. I also teach at home and online, via Skype, so that I can teach on a UK-wide basis.
When are you available?
I'm available at any time during the weekends, and on all weekday evenings from 7pm to 11pm. I often do a lot of work during the school holidays as well, in case a student is studying for re-takes, or night school.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach students of all ages, although most of my students are A-Level and undergraduate students. I also have a lot of experience in helping graduates get into the workplace, through honing skills such as interview technique and CV-building.

My professional, or life coachees are of a range of ages, and are based all over the UK, and I also have an overseas coachee at this time.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I prepare my students for all exams from A-Level, up to and including Masters Degree level subjects.

When coaching however, I have been mainly coaching graduates on breaking into the workplace, as well as young and established professional who are in their first or second management or executive position.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
Online tutoring or coaching is done via Skype. I will also do an initial consultation session via skype or via email, and payment arrangements can be determined in this session.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
The Chartered Institute of Insurers.
Association of Coaching
Where and with whom did you train?
I did voluntary tutoring and mentoring work at King's College, London, and developed this further whilst living in Birmingham. I also work in a management role in financial services, during which time I have helped many professionals with their personal and professional development through coaching methods taught to me by internal trainers.

I am currently being accredited by the University of Cambridge with a Post-Graduate Diploma in Coaching and Leadership, which I will complete thiis year.
Tell me about some of your current students.
My current students are a good mix of undergraduate and A-Level students. I've also had a good deal of experience working with students with learning difficulties and distressed circumstances, and I like to think I've made a positive impact in their moving forward. I recently completed a research project in collaboration with a student of mine relating to how the Russian oligarchy impact the Russian economy, and its place in the global market.

My current coachees include recent graduates who have made it onto some well-thought of graduate employment programmes, as well as established managers and executives.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I'm sure that you will find me very friendly and personable, but above all, focused, firm, and intent on helping you achieve your goals. As well as realising the importance of knowing the subject matter, I place a lot of emphasis on writing, presentation, research and examination techniques, all of which are key to achieving the best results. If there's anything else you'd like to know, please don't hesitate to get in touch.