Find UK Tuition

Nina - German/ Spanish Classes in Bournemouth Poole, Dorset

Miss Nina Bentley German (general) Tutor (Bournemouth)

Miss Nina Bentley Silver Member

  • Alderney (BH12) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 07 Mar 2018
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA German and Spanish
  • Professional Qualification PGCE Modern Foreign Languages
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check CRB check
  • Professional Membership NUT (National Union of Teachers)
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am an experienced secondary school language teacher and tutor and love to teach languages! I have lived in Germany, Spain, Japan, Australia. I am happy to teach online or in person, whichever is easier.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach German at GCSE and A' level standard and am also, due to being half German, a near native German speaker.

I also teach Spanish at GCSE and A' level standard. I grew up and have worked in Spain so my Spanish is near native level.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I hold a BA in German and Spanish and a PGCE in Modern Foreign Languages.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have taught at a secondary school since 2003 achieving excellent pass rates for my subjects. I have also taught English as a Foreign Language in Japan. I have been a private tutor for many years now and really enjoy it!
How much do you charge?
I charge a basic rate of £25 per hour. I like to have a free consultation lesson before I begin teaching to see if I meet the students language needs and therefore am able to prepare the necessary materials.

I also am happy to lower the price if we agree on, for example, a series of 10 lessons.

I charge less for group lessons, depending on the group size and travel cost.

If I need to travel I would need to consider travel cost as well.
Where do you teach?
I teach in Bournemouth/ Poole and its surrounding area.

I am happy to teach online, in your home or in a suitable location like a cafe.
When are you available?
Currently I am available evenings and occasionally on weekends. I do sometimes have a day during the week off.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach KS3, GCSE and A'level. I am happy to teach primary level language also and have taught beginner lessons at primary schools. I teach beginners, intermediate and advanced language for students wishing to learn for fun, business or travel.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I can prepare students for GCSE and A'level.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a CRB/ DBS certificate.

I know also hold, after teaching in Australia for a year (2010), an International Criminal Record Check from ACPO, Association of Chief Police Officers.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I have Skype for online teaching. I am able to supply resources as needed.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I belong to NUT (National Union of Teachers) and the GTC (General Teaching Council of England).
Where and with whom did you train?
My BA in German and Spanish was done at Aberystwyth University. My PGCE in Modern Foreign Languages was done at the University of East Anglia.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I taught a middle aged gentleman over a period of two weeks (10x 1 hour lessons). It was an intensive course designed for him to practice everyday and have homework every evening in order for him be working on his German as often as possible. We were very pleased with his progress and he loved the grammar tables. He was able to converse with me well. Now it is up to him to expand his vocabulary in order for him to say everything he wishes to!

I taught a young lady last year who needed help with her A'level German oral exam. Her topic was on abortion (very difficult topic with a lot of specific vocabulary). We practiced twice a week for 6 weeks until she could give a speech on everything we were able to find out about abortion, focusing on abortion rules in Germany. She did excellently and got an A for her German.

I have just brought a GCSE student from a C grade to A /A* grade in all her practice papers we went through together. She got an A grade for her Spanish.

I am teaching 3 gentlemen who help run a business with contacts in Germany. I am helping develop the vocabulary needed to do business online, on the telephone and in person.

I am teaching an elderly gent with a great love of Spanish. He wants to keep up his spoken Spanish and go a little more in depth with grammar to improve his knowledge.

I am teaching another gent who loves to go on holiday in Spain and believes he should be able to understand the language if he is on holiday in a country. He takes a lot of extra work to do at home, with a busy home life, and due to his commitment his language level is coming along in leaps and bounds.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I tailor the lessons to suit you, though if you have exams coming up I will make you work for them at a level needed for you to get the best grade you are capable of. Once I know which exams you are taking, and the exam board, we will also practice exam papers until we are both happy.

If you are looking for language lessons for fun, business or travel, again I am happy to tailor the lesson to suit your needs and will teach you at the speed and level you wish.