Find UK Tuition

Panos L - Online Maths/ Statistics/ University Maths

PanosL A-level Maths Tutor (South East London)

PanosL Gold Member

  • Bermondsey (SE1)
  • Last Logged In: 14 May 2018
  • Sex: Male
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification MSc in Mathematics, Distinction - Queen Mary University of London
  • Professional Qualification BSc in Mathematics, 2:1 - National Kapodistrian University of Athens
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check DBS checked
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other online tutors)

Personal Message
Insightful mathematician, amiable pedagogue, and mind stirrer.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
GCSE mathematics, including Advanced and Further.
AS/A2-level mathematics: C1-C4, S1-S4, M1-M2, FP1-FP4.
Undergraduate mathematics modules in a wide range. For example, calculus, real analysis, complex analysis, linear algebra, probabilities, statistics, discrete mathematics among others.
Tell me about your qualifications.
After finishing my BSc in Mathematics in Athens, I went on to further explore this elegant field at Queen Mary University. There I managed to graduate with a masters and distinction. Since February 2011 I have been working as a maths tutor and was also recognized by the Teaching Council of England with the QTS. As a result, apart from familiarising myself well with the UK system and curriculum, I have further developed my experience and teaching skills. I'm also a member of the Tutor's Association.
My fields of expertise lie mostly within pure mathematics, since this has occupied most of my studies. However, I'm equally competent and qualified in more applied areas, such as statistics, probabilities, or discrete maths.
What kind of experience do you have?
As for my tutoring method, I strive to create a well balanced relationship with pupils. I set clear targets for my students and expect them to develop throughout our sessions. Additionally, I emphasize on the suitable approach for each individual in order to have the best results possible. Finally, I consider humour an essential part of my sessions as it creates a better learning environment and a more enjoyable session.
How much do you charge?
With regard to my rates, they are negotiable for block booking, and discounted for trial sessions and long-term, intensive or group tuition. They vary depending on the student's level, starting from £30ph.
Where do you teach?
I currently tutor online via skype.
When are you available?
I`m very flexible with days and times as long as sufficient notice is given and arrangements are discussed.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I have been working as a maths tutor for pupils taking GCSE, IGCSE, AS/A2-levels, and undergraduates for various math related modules. I have also assisted adult learners, and others aspiring to a career change or further qualifications.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I do have a DBS.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I have been tutoring maths for the last five years almost. Tuition during that period has been mostly face to face, with individual students or groups. It was only last year that I attempted to expand my lessons to the online realm. And it was not in vain.
I have had pupils from all over UK that were looking for the best fit of a tutor, or university students that studied in London but wanted help even when away (during reading weeks, holidays etc). Thus, I have now shifted my focus to online tuition and I`m trying to provide the most suitable environment not only digital with the necessary learning tools and aids, but also in terms of learning styles for each individual student.
The setting for our online sessions, which take place via skype, includes a digital board from which notes can be saved and sent to the student for their records and further study. When homework or projects are set for the student to undertake, these are returned as pictures or scanned documents and are corrected in due time.
Tell me about some of your current students.
Below there`s a selection of past and on going clients:
•Leyla: (17 yo) Home-tutoring for Maths AS-level. Focusing on C1, C2 and S1. Leyla achieved an A.
•Nicole: (18 yo) Home-tutoring for Maths A2-level. Concentrating on C3, C4 and S2. Nicole’s result was a B.
•Isabella: (18 yo girl) Home tutoring from IGCSE to A-level C1,C2,C3,C4,M1,S1 managed an overall B and successfully went on to study at Surrey University.
•Seb: (17 yo) Weekend home-tutoring for Maths IGCSE. Went from a predicted C to a B. Currently assisting on A level C1, C2, S1 predicted A.
•James: (17 yo) Home-tutoring for Maths A2-level, focusing on C3, C4 and S2.
•Charlotte: (1st year University of Queen Mary, Mathematical Studies) Assisted with problem sheets and exam preparation on Calculus and Probability.
•Charles: (Adult learner, involved in banking) Providing maths revision on foundations of GCSE and A level syllabus.
•Cheyne: (2nd year Birkbeck Economics) Assistance given on understanding Quantitative Technics and exam preparation.
•Tom: (1st year UCL Economics) Guidance given on problem sheets as well as exam preparation on Mathematics for Business.
•Sharan: (1st year University of Bristol, Business Studies) Exercise sheet guidance and preparation for summer exams in Maths and Statistics.
•Lauren: (1st year LSE, Maths and Economics) Ongoing assistance and exam preparation on Real Analysis.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I'm very friendly and passionate with what I do. I'm enthusiastic with teaching and maths, and trying to pass this feeling to my students as well. Maths is not plainly something you have to learn but something fun you can learn. Of course we all care about grades but what counts most at the end of the day is the new mindset you have acquired, upon which you can carry on building within any discipline.