Find UK Tuition

Paul McGrath - Maths Tutor in Surbiton

Paul McGrath A-level Maths Tutor (Kingston upon Thames)

Paul McGrath Gold Member

  • Surbiton (KT6) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 11 May 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Elmbridge, Epsom and Ewell

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

  • Professional Qualification BSc (Hons) Mathematics
  • Professional Qualification PGCE Secondary Mathematics
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Enhanced DBS
  • Professional Membership Mathematical Association
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a fully qualified, experienced maths teacher and tutor who is currently studying for a masters in Statisitcs.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I am a mathematics enthusiast who loves to teach mathematics. When I am not tutoring I spend time researching mathematics teaching, keeping up to date with the current curriculum, as well as understanding different methods to explain the more difficult topics. I even spend time solving maths problems for fun!
Tell me about your qualifications.
I hold a BSc (Hons) in mathematics (Mathematics, Statistics and Computing) and a PGCE in Secondary Mathematics.
What kind of experience do you have?
Having attained my mathematics PGCE from St. Mary's College in Twickenham, during which time I trained in Tolworth Girls School and the Howard of Effingham, I joined Heathside school in Weybridge. I taught at Heathside for 9 years and left in August 2014 to start a maths and English tuition franchise.

During my time at Heathside I was the Key Stage 4 (GSCE) coordinator; where the A* to C GCSE Maths results improved from 67% to 90% in 2013. I was one of the specialist A level teachers and have extensive teaching experience of C1, C2, C3, C4, D1, M1, S1 and S2. I am also a registered examiner for the main exam boards.

Since beginning private tuition in February 2015 I have tutored students from year 5 to year 13. I am very pleased to have helped students achieve grade A's and A*s in A level and GCSE; I am also equally proud of those students who achieved their target grades.

I have helped or am helping students achieve their goals in maths from the following schools: Chessington Community College, Claremont Fan Court School, Cobham Free School, Esher College, Esher High School, George Abbot, Glynn Technology, Guildford High School, Greycourt School, Haliford School, Heathside School, Hollyfield School, Holy Cross School, Latchmere Primary School, Lycee Francais Charles de Gaulle Londres, Morehouse School Knightsbridge, Richard Challoner School, Royal Kent C of E Primary School, Saint Andrew's and Saint Mark's Primary School, Saint George’s College Weybridge, Southborough School, Teddington School, Tolworth Girls School, Ursuline High School, Wimbledon College.

I have also helped adult learners with GCSE Mathematics and the numeracy section of the QTS skills tests.
How much do you charge?
The rates quoted are for students travelling to me at or after 15:30 weekdays. The rate for me travelling to your home is dependent on time and your location.
Where do you teach?
The majorty of my tutoring takes place in my home class room in Surbiton, Surrey. This is equiped with a whiteboard, computer and a fast printer. I have access to a wide variety of resources which can be called upon during tuition if necessary and I am able to provide tailored homework at the end of the session. I am happy to travel up to a maximum of 25 minutes' drive, although the rate is higher.
When are you available?
I have been fully booked since September, however, I have now two times available, Mondays at 1830 and Fridays at 1545. I am also able to teach during the daytime at a reduced rate.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach students aged from 7 to adult; KS2, KS3, GCSE and A level.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an enhanced DBS.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I belong to the Mathematical Association.
Tell me about some of your current students.
My students range in ages from primary school to adults. I am helping students with the 11+, 13+, general mathematical skills, problem solving, GCSE and A level.
Do you have a personal message for students?
It is very important to me that you feel comfortable with the level of maths that you are working on. You need to be challenged but not overwelmed, I need to make sure that I plan the tutoring based on your level of mathematics so that you make the most progress.