Find UK Tuition

Pauline Finlay: Economics/Business Studies/Accounting, Birmingham

Pauline Finlay A-level Economics Tutor (Birmingham)

Pauline Finlay Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BSc(Econ); MSc(Econ); ACA; CELTA
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Current DBS for working in schools
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a highly-qualified professional tutor, with a strong track record of helping students at all levels to succeed. Whatever your situation, I will do my best to help you meet your own learning needs.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Economics
Business Studies
Accounting
Tell me about your qualifications.
MSc (Econ) London School of Economics
BSc (Econ) London School of Economics
ICAEW KPMG
CELTA teaching certificate
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been teaching for more than 20 years, mainly working with `A` level and University students. This included teaching on Economics and Accounting undergraduate courses at LSE and Kings College, London.

As well as working for several years in finance, my relevant work experience includes preparation of study materials at Kaplan Financial and 12 years as a professional economist at the Bank of England. During my time at the Bank, I was one of the judges for the Target Two Point Zero Interest Rate Challenge for Schools.

I have been working as a private tutor from home for several years, and more recently I have also been teaching Economics at St Martins School, Solihull.
How much do you charge?
My hourly rate for individual tuition starts at £30, depending on the level of study. Please see the details under "Subjects offered".

I also teach in small groups, either with 2 students (£18 each), 3 students (£15 each) or 4 students (£12 each).
Group lessons depend on being able to match students who are preparing for the same (or very similar) course and are at a similar level. This is not always possible.
Where do you teach?
I only teach from home.
When are you available?
In general I am available weekdays only (daytime and evenings).
In the exam run-up period, April to June, I also offer Sunday classes but these are at a higher rate.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach from GCSE upwards. There is no upper limit, I have worked with several older mature students.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I teach GCSE and A level Economics and Business Studies for all exam boards
I also work with students on pre-university and undergraduate courses.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a recent DBS certificate (2014), issued when I started working as the 6th form Economics Teacher for St Martins School, Solihull.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I work with all levels of students, some who are aiming for top grades and others who just want to make sure that they do the best that they can. Whatever your situation, I can help you to build up and extend your knowledge and understanding, boost your confidence and prepare effectively for your exams.

I believe that the success of personal tutoring relies heavily on tutor-tutee rapport, so it is important for me to achieve a positive relationship with my students. I have a helpful, supportive approach and aim to be personable but professional at all times.

With my professional background and extensive teaching experience, I can provide you with the best in tutorial support for your studies.