Find UK Tuition

Dr Phil Child (PhD) - History & English Tutor in Dorset

Phil Child A-level English Tutor (Bournemouth)

Phil Child

  • Wareham (BH20) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 15 May 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Bournemouth, East Dorset, North Dorset, Poole, West Dorset
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a highly specialised tutor with 2 years experience of teaching in Higher Education.

PhD from the University of Exeter.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
History; English Literature; University Entrance.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a PhD in History from the University of Exeter, as well as an MPhil in Modern European History from the University of Cambridge. I also hold a first-class BA (Hons) in History from the University of Exeter.
What kind of experience do you have?
Over the course of my PhD, I taught first-year undergraduate students on two core modules over two academic years. The two modules that I taught focused on core historical skills, methodology and concepts, and would be well applied to tutoring students working towards GCSE or A-Level qualifications. As an academic historian, I have an additional knowledge of the ideas and practice of history that many tutors might lack.

Throughout my seminars, I split students into smaller working groups so to explain topics in more depth, as well as giving individual feedback tailored to the student in question. I utilised a variety of resources to do so, including visual media and short activities to enhance understanding.
How much do you charge?
Free phone consultations provided.

Preliminary Trial Lesson available at half price.

£28-60 per hour (dependent on level and subject).
Where do you teach?
I live near Wareham in Dorset. I am willing to travel to students' homes to teach up to 20 miles from my home (Dorchester/Weymouth; Blandford; Poole/Wimborne; all places in between).

I can be flexible about my teaching hours.
When are you available?
All weekdays: 9am-7pm.

Saturday/Sunday morning, afternoons and evenings as well on request.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
11-25 years old; students of all learning requirements.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE; A-Level; Degree Level (History).
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
No.
Do you have a personal message for students?
Unlike many older tutors I'm relatively young and innovative, and remember what it was like to work towards GCSEs, A-Levels and my first degree. I am passionate about History and English Literature, and would welcome the chance to bring the same enjoyment of the subject to young learners. I am enthusiastic about utilising the research skills I have gained to assist others in developing their knowledge of History and English Literature, as well as their ability to understand and write about historical subjects.