Find UK Tuition

Phil Latham - Online 13+/11+ Tutor

Phil Latham Key Stage 3 Science Tutor (Worcester)

Phil Latham

  • Central Worcester (WR2) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 13 Jun 2018
  • Sex: Male
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other online tutors)

Personal Message
Highly experienced and passionate teacher (as Head of Science at a top London prep school) and online tutor for Common Entrance 11+ and 13+ with speciality in both Maths and Science.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
KS2 - English, Maths and Science
11+ Common Entrance
13+ Common Entrance Science and Maths
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have taught for 14 years - 8 years in primary (the majority based in Year 6) and 6 years in a top London prep school (Westminster Cathedral Choir School) as Head of Science. Here many of my students went on to the top performing UK schools including Winchester, Eton and Westminster. I have worked internationally (the British School Al Khubairat in Abu Dhabi), in the state sector and in the private sector. My degree was in Environmental Science (2.1) from the University of Southampton and my PGCE (with Maths specialism) was from the University of Birmingham. My 'A' levels were in Maths, Biology and French.
What kind of experience do you have?
My teaching experience speaks for itself and when inspected at each of my three schools (both OFSTED and ISI) I have always been awarded 'Outstanding'. I have tutored for much of this time and since January 2016 have specialised in online tuition and have worked with various children towards senior school entrance exams and CE13+ using various effective learning platforms.
How much do you charge?
£35 per hour.
If you are not happy in the initial session then there will be no charge.
Where do you teach?
Online only.
When are you available?
Weekdays and weekends - any time throughout the day.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
11, 12 and 13 year olds - KS2 / KS3 and specifically CE11+ and CE13+
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
Common Entrance 11+ and 13+
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I will initially advise on the procedures and will happily set up an initial skype chat to talk through and discuss requirements. It's nothing too challenging - mainly skype and a gmail email address is required (in order to access google drive).
Where and with whom did you train?
PGCE - University of Birmingham
Tell me about some of your current students.
I am currently working with a boy in Brighton in year 8 who needs some urgent input in Maths in preparation for the summer Common Entrance exams. I am also working with two sisters in America who will be moving back to the UK next year and need general support and preparation for school entrance exams later this year - mainly in Maths and Science. From January 2016 to June I worked with three different pupils (at level 2, 3 and scholarship) in both Maths and Science for 13+.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am fun, friendly and patient. I have taught so many students in my career to date that I am, without question, fully equipped to help and get the best out of every single new student, including you. I will work at a pace that suits you - whilst constantly aiming to push you to your absolute potential. I am passionate about education and will strive to bring you up to the standards necessary and in so doing, and most importantly, will boost your confidence and enjoyment for learning at the same time.