Find UK Tuition

Tom C - Physics & Maths Tutor Livingston, Falkirk, Edinburgh, Shotts

Tom C Higher Physics Tutor (Edinburgh)

Tom C Gold Member

  • Livingston (EH54)
  • Last Logged In: 23 Nov 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Web site: www.tomctutor.com
  • Can Travel To: Edinburgh, Falkirk, Midlothian, South Lanarkshire
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification B.Sc. Hons Physics
  • Professional Qualification PG Cert IT
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check PVG Member (enhanced DBS)
  • Professional Membership STEM Ambassador
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Experienced and well qualified tutor in secondary, adult and university Maths, Physics. With a positive attitude and engaging personality I get on well with my students.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Physics and Mathematics,
GCSE or Scottish Nationals
A-Level or Highers
Further/Higher (university)
Adult/Casual learner
Tell me about your qualifications.
B.Sc. Hons Physics, PGCert ICT, MIP, MIEE
Assessors Qualification (D32/33)
Advanced Microsoft Office C&Guilds eQual
What kind of experience do you have?
Tutor with over 10 years adult training and tutor experience.
Experience covering SQA and GCE examination boards assessment and curricula.
Was trainer at college where I obtained my Assessors Certificate in Electronics Engineering.
Have provided tuition in National 4/5 through to Advanced Higher, as well as GCSE/iGCSE, A-Level, IB.
Also tutored mature students and undergraduate level University and Colleges.
How much do you charge?
For 121 normally charge a fixed fee upwards from £30/hr but can offer discount for regular clients. I charge upwards from £45 for a 2hr session in any one sitting.
I can accommodate more students in a lesson and will offer a discount where possible. I am flexible with my client payment arrangements.
I also tutor ONLINE service which is cheaper than the 121 rate.
Where do you teach?
Usually travel / drive to client's home but sometimes use other venues, e.g. libraries and local college campus if this is what suits the client more.
Districts I cover mainly West Lothian and Edinburgh regions: Livingston, Falkirk, Shotts, Wishaw, Penicuik, South Queensferry (I don't cover Fife sorry).
When are you available?
Available generally from 12 noon Mon-Fri and work right up to 10pm.
Weekend Saturdays and Sundays from 10am through to 7pm.
I also provide tuition over the school holidays, summer and Easter recess.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I generally only teach senior students, S3 and above at school.
I also tutor young adults (17+) and more mature students at college or university.
My university tuition is in U/G Year1 and Year2 only.
Post-graduates may be considered depending on what it is they need lessons.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
School leaving certificates: National5, Intermediate, Higher, Advanced Higher, GCSE, GCE, IB and University Entrance (e.g. STEP).
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an upto date PVG Membership, same as Enhanced Disclosure.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I tutor by pre-arranged time using Skype and Scribblar web-collaboration service- these are generally free to use for the client (except for my tuition fee of course).
It only requires a desktop, laptop or tablet with the Skype app loaded and a reasonably good internet connection speed for the session.
We agree a day-time for the session and I txt by sms to your phone just before to initiate the lesson. Payment is usually by Bank Draft (BACs) or Paypal.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
Member of Institute of Physics.
Where and with whom did you train?
I obtained my Degree at Edinburgh University as a mature student.
I passed my PGCert in IT (with distinction) at Napier University.
Tell me about some of your current students.
Most of my students are mainstream school leaving (higher and advanced higher) and some I have given tuition in earlier years.
I am familiar with SEN requirements if relevant.
Do you have a personal message for students?
It is of the utmost importance that the student gets all the support and encouragement to advance their career and enter further/higher education in their chosen fields. Any tutoring I give will always put the student’s interest first above all other considerations. I will also encourage the student to look further than the restricted options in the curriculum and take a genuine academic interest in their subject.