Find UK Tuition

Politics/ Sociology/ Economics Tutor in Oxford - Dr Karem Roitman

Dr Karem Roitman GCSE Economics Tutor (Oxford)

Dr Karem Roitman Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification DPhil, Oxford
  • Professional Qualification Fellow Higher Education Academy, 20 years experience
  • References References are available upon request
  • View my LinkedIn Profile I'm on LinkedIn

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other online tutors)

Personal Message
My goal is to inspire and support my students. I have been teaching for 20 years and there is nothing I like to do more! I have taught at several universities as well as examining and tutoring for various A-level and GCSE Exam Boards.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I cover a broad range of social science subjects: Politics, Sociology, Economics, Anthropology, and Citizenship. My expertise in these subjects comes from having two undergraduate degrees (Economics and Politics, both Summa Cum Laude); and inter-disciplinary Masters and PhD degrees (International Development). My teaching experience comes from 20 years of teaching, home educating my children, and establishing and managing schools. Most recently I have set up a virtual school were I run engaging, fun, live, on-line classes on political and social philosophy, economics, and development for all age groups (see my website), and you can also find Latin, Music, English, Spanish, Chinese and soon Engineering classes.
Tell me about your qualifications.
University of Oxford DPhil International Development 2008
University of Oxford MPhil Development Studies 2004
Arizona State University BA Economics 2002
Arizona State University BSc Political Science 2002
What kind of experience do you have?
I have 20 years of teaching experience. I love teaching students of all ages and I have taught students from over 60 countries. I understand that each student needs something slightly different (including SENs) and particularly understand individual cultural needs. My experience includes lecturing at various universities including in the Oxford tutorial system, at a Liberal Arts University, and long distance education through the Open University. I have also tutored and examined at IGCSE and A-level. Finally I have run co-ops and taught young children.

My experiences has taught me that all students need to feel supported, acknowledged, and all need to find the joy in learning - which is always there if you find the right angle! I
How much do you charge?
My prices are listed by subject. I give a free lesson to anyone who recommends me to a friend.
Where do you teach?
I am based near Oxford, but I teach almost exclusively online. I find this is best for students as there is no time/energy wasted in traveling and setting up the right atmosphere. We can just jump straight into learning. I have also developed a number of on-line materials which I can use with my students. I have undertaken a number of trainings to teach online and, after years of experience, I have been impressed by how much my students can learn via this medium.
When are you available?
I am available immediately and have a very flexible schedule.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I have taught everything from KS1 through university students. Each level has its challenges and its benefits. Please contact me to discuss whether I am the right tutor for your needs.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I can work with students to prepare for IGCSE and A-level examinations.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I teach through Skype and Zoom (so I can screen-share and show videos, draw graphs...). I might prepare some resources for students to review before our tutorial and might ask students to prepare work for me to mark after our session (we can only learn by practicing). My time marking assignments will be part of our tutorial time. However, most learning will take place in a very focused hour, where we will uncover what areas a student is unclear on or what skills s/he is lacking and proceed to fix these.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
Fellow of the Higher Education Academy
Member of LASA - Latin American Studies Association
Where and with whom did you train?
I got my first tutoring qualification in the USA (Tutoring Association 1998) after completing 2 years of teaching and an intensive course on providing useful feedback, listening and teaching strategies. I have never stopped teaching. I was further trained at Oxford University and finally was made a Fellow of the Higher Education Academy based on the quality of my teaching portfolio.
Do you have a personal message for students?
If you have gone so far as to look for a tutor you are already ahead - it shows motivation, a strategy, and a goal: to improve your grades (and, in the process yourself!). I look forward to hearing from you and learning from you as we work together to reach your goal.