Find UK Tuition

Philippa Rumsey- Experienced and highly qualified PPE tutor, N13

Philippa Rumsey A-level Economics Tutor (North London)

Philippa Rumsey

  • White Hart Lane (N13) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 20 May 2018
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Barnet, Camden, Enfield, Hackney, Islington
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
As a qualified teacher I work with all exam boards and know exactly how to get you through your exams. Passionate, experienced and flexible. Outstanding results over many years.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
AS/ A2 Economics, Politics, History, English Literature, Philosophy, Psychology, Sociology
ESOL and adult learners in numeracy and literacy.
Music Theory, Piano.
Tell me about your qualifications.
BA (Hons) PPE, University of Manchester
PGCE (London Institute of Education) Humanities with Social Sciences
MA (Coaching for Educational Development)
Leadership Pathways
Currently working towards PHD qualification at UCL
Sign Language Certificate
Extensive training in working with student with a full range of educational and behavioural needs
Piano Grade 8
TEFL certificate
What kind of experience do you have?
Last Educational post Assistant Head in a Large London Secondary school
15 years teaching in Secondary Schools, specialising in AS/ A2 teaching and ESOL smaller groups
20 years experience tutoring students aged between 4 and 50.
Tutoring KS5 students since 2010 and previously Piano teaching since obtaining my Grade 8 examination in 1990.
I have worked as a TEFL teacher overseas and have held senior positions up to Assistant Headship within Secondary schools in London.
How much do you charge?
Between £30-50 per hour, depending on level and location.
Where do you teach?
I prefer to teach at home, but will travel locally (North London)
When are you available?
Weekdays from 10am- 8pm
Saturdays 2pm-6pm
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I have experience of teaching students aged from 4 to 55. My specialism has always been 14-19 year olds. In particular, my specialism is examination preparation, working on structure, ensuring you achieve the very best grade possible.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I prepare students for 11+ exams, entrance exams, KS3 support, GCSE and AS/ A2 examinations, music theory and practical piano examinations.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I work with students via email sending resources and marking submitted work.
I will also provide subject lessons as well as tutoring sessions.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
NUT, ACSL, NCSL
Where and with whom did you train?
Please see above- University of Manchester and the London Institute of Education/ UCL
Tell me about some of your current students.
I am currently tutoring four KS5 students in Politics, English, Economics, History and Psychology. In their AS examinations these students all achieved grades far higher than their predictions.
I am also teaching adult learners Psychology and Sociology for OU modules and conduct music tuition for a group of home educated students weekly.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am a warm, flexible and experienced tutor and will ensure you achieve.
I have a track record of enabling students to exceed their target grades, in a range of examinations.