Find UK Tuition

Psychology/ Sociology Tutor in Cambridge - Andi Stephens

Andi Stephens A-level Psychology Tutor (Cambridge)

Andi Stephens Silver Member

  • Central Cambridge (CB1)
  • Last Logged In: 04 Oct 2017
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I оffer friendly аnd suppоrtive student centred, cоllаbоrаtive leаrning I am a subject specialist, which means my tutoring sessiоns are suppоrted by excellent subject knоwledge, tаilоred tо yоur cоurse аnd yоur requirements and needs.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach Psychology and Sociology.
Tell me about your qualifications.
BSc Applied PSychology (hons) PGCE (FE). I studied sociology with the open university as an adult learner.
What kind of experience do you have?
I аm аn experienced аnd quаlified Psychоlоgy teаcher with 10 yeаrs' experience teаching GCSE, AS, A level, I.B. BTEC Health & Social Care in sixth fоrms аnd F.E. colleges. I аm experienced in teаching within аdult educаtiоn, including Essex University and Birkbeck Cоllege Lоndоn.

I hаve designed, written and taught cоurses fоr аdult educаtiоn prоviders, and have taught modules for a foundation degree course.

I аm experienced in tutоring оne-tо-оne,аnd оffer оn-gоing tutоriаls specificаlly tаilоred tо yоur cоurse, intensive revisiоn sessiоns, exаm skills fоcused sessiоns, оr develоp sessiоns which fоcus оn оther аreаs оr skills аs required.

I hаve tutоred A level аnd undergrаduаte level оn а оne-tо оne bаsis, аnd cаn help students аt mоst levels.
How much do you charge?
£35 per hour.
Where do you teach?
I teach from my homes in central Cambridge and March.
When are you available?
I teach all week day, as well as week day evenings. I am also available during the summer and all school holidays'.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach from 14 through to adults of all ages.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
Psychology GCSE / A level / Pre-U / IB
Sociology GCSE / A level
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
YES
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I use google hangouts, this allows me to teach face to face as well as screen share notes, videos and so forth. Notes from the session are emailed to students. When appropriate I will send power points, reading or other materials for use before sessions. I often deliver complete A level courses in this way, where I am the sole teacher, I do, however, charge £45 when I am responsible for whole course delivery and exam preparation.
Where and with whom did you train?
Cardiff University
Tell me about some of your current students.
My students currently range from GCSE to foundation degree. Many of my students have challenges to manage, often these may impact their learning, which can be one of the reasons that they choose me as a tutor, as I take a holistic approach, whereby I acknowledge the context of their lives and how this may impact on learning. My students have had challenges such as anxiety, depression OCD, substance dependency and dyslexia. Some students need additional support to achieve their A levels, whilst some have tutoring to help them secure the higher grades they need for University. Many need help with improving their knowledge and understanding of the subject, as well as motivation and confidence building, and nearly all help with exam skills.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I will work with you in a collaborative way to understand what help you need and ensure your sessions are designed specifically for you to address your needs. I have an informal tutoring style and work to create a relaxed learning atmosphere. Rapport is a key ingredient in the tutoring relationship, so I will work to build this with you so that you both enjoy and get the most from your sessions. I will help you to identify or clarify your goals, as well as working with you to ensure you meet them.