Find UK Tuition

Psychology/ Sociology/ Criminology Tutor in Derby - Stephen Claridge

Stephen Claridge A-level Psychology Tutor (Derby)

Stephen Claridge Gold Member

  • Belper (DE56) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 17 Feb 2018
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Ashfield, Bolsover, Derby, Erewash, Gedling, Mansfield, Newark and Sherwood, North East Derbyshire, Nottingham, South Derbyshire
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification B.Sc (Hons) Behavioural Sciences
  • Professional Qualification M.Sc. Applied Behavioural Sciences PGCE
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check I am on the DBS Update Service
  • References References are available upon request


(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am a Psychology and Sociology Tutor. I have taught for over 15 years with a wide level of experiences to GCSE, A Level, BTEC and Access to HE. My teaching experiences are in 121 private tuition and within the group and classroom setting.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach:
Psychology GCSE, A Level, BTEC, Access to HE and undergraduate level.
Sociology GCSE, A Level, BTEC, Access to HE and undergraduate level.
Criminology from level 1 to level 5.
Tell me about your qualifications.
B.Sc. (Hons) Behavioural Sciences
M.Sc. Applied Behavioural Sciences
What kind of experience do you have?
My teaching experiences lie in teaching both Psychology and Sociology at GCSE, A level BTEC , Access to HE and at undergraduate level. I have taught within the classroom situation and on a one to one basis. I have taught students from a variety of ages from 14 to mature students in their 20s and 30s plus at their various levels of study. From my teaching, I have experienced students from a wide range of abilities and have no difficulty in adapting my teaching style to individual students and groups. I have had experience in planning, assessing and following the mark scheme. I have an excellent knowledge and understanding of the exam syllabuses and the relevant assessment criteria, which I have applied to my teaching.
How much do you charge?
I charge £30 per hour plus 20p per mile when travelling over 5 miles. I will offer a negotiated discounted rate when teaching students in groups.
Where do you teach?
Regarding teaching students, I will travel to students' houses. Alternatively, they can come to my house. Also I will teach students at other locations they choose, such as libraries. I am flexible as to where I wish to tutor. I can tutor students in the Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire areas at places including Belper, Alfreton, Matlock, Bakewell, Nottingham. I can travel within a 35 mile location within the Derby area.
When are you available?
My availability is from 10am to 9pm Monday to Friday. At the weekends, I can teach from 10am to 5pm on Saturdays and on Sundays, I can teach from 10am to 9pm
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach students from 14 years old to mature students in their 20s and 30s plus.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I prepare students for GCSE, A Level, BTEC, Access to HE and undergraduate level in Psychology, Sociology and Criminology
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a DBS that is valid from March 2017.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
For online tutoring, I will make arrangements as to when the student wishes for their session to start and finish. I will arrange the length of the session and whether students want to be taught individually or in a group situation, whether the students are together in the same environment, or by interacting from an interactive online network.

I have a flexible and negotiated approach which I use to deliver the topic in terms of teaching and assessment and the visual aids the learners will need.
Where and with whom did you train?
My teacher training was at Greenwich University on a distance learning basis. I achieved a PGCE.
Tell me about some of your current students.
My current students are studying Psychology and Sociology mainly to A Level. There are a few BTEC, Access to HE students, plus some undergraduates. I am teaching some students within the classroom setting and others within private tuition.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I always welcome students to my tutoring either on an individual or a group basis. My role is to ensure that students feel comfortable and relaxed during my teaching and will negotiate with students with regard to their needs and what topic areas they wish me to deliver. I have been doing private tuition for a number of years and met a range of students from a variety of backgrounds and ages. I have gained much experience in delivering the lesson to tailor the needs of individual students.