Find UK Tuition

Rachel - Science, Chemistry, Biology, Maths Tutor.Kidderminster, Stourport, Worcester

Rachel Welton GCSE Maths Tutor (Dudley)

Rachel Welton

  • Kidderminster (DY14) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 21 Jun 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Herefordshire, Shropshire, Worcester
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Available to teach maths and all sciences from KS2 SATs to GCSE, and A level Biology. I prefer to teach in your home. I'm a qualified teacher and am DBS checked.
From September 2016 I am offering lessons by Skype for overseas students.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Maths, Science - Chemistry, Physics, Biology. I have recently started teaching Mandarin up to GCSE. I am also a trained cycle instructor, teaching road safety at different levels, from 8 year olds to adults.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I qualified as a teacher in 2004. I have PhD in Environmental Ecology.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been teaching for over a decade, both privately (tutoring) and in schools. I now run my own tutoring business, called Flying Tutor. I am temporarily teaching Mandarin lessons at a local high school.
How much do you charge?
Generally, £28/hour to cover the cost of travelling to you.
KS2 Maths and SATs preparation is picked up by the younger members of the Flying Tutor team. They charge £15/hr and do not take on special needs pupils. Please indicate which tutor you are enquiring about for younger students.
Cycle skills training is £15/hour. Lessons by Skype are €35/ hr.
Where do you teach?
I travel to you. I cover the Wyre Forest - Kidderminster, Stourport, Bewdley - Worcester, Tenbury and Cleobury Mortimer areas.
When are you available?
I usually teach in the evenings/ weekends, but this is negotiable.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
KS3 up to GCSE, so age 13 up to adult.
Members of the Flying Tutor team are also available to tutor KS2 SATs in Maths.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
KS2 SATs, GCSEs, A level Biology, IGCSE, Common Entrance Exam.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, I have a recent (2013) DBS. New one 2016.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
Lessons by Skype available from September 2016 for overseas students payable in euros by bank transfer. Ideally in English, but I am able to teach maths in German or Dutch if you have a little patience with me. Skype lessons are €35/hr. Note euros.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I have over 20 students at the moment. Four are studying A level Biology/ Human Biology. A dozen are studying for their GCSEs (Y10 or 11). They cover a range of exam boards (AQA, Edexcel, OCR). Most are taking Higher, although two are studying for Foundation. Five are taking IGCSE. I also have one adult maths student with discalculia, who will be sitting his Functional Skills Level 2 this summer. The remaining students are mostly younger, in the KS3 range, needing varying amounts of help to either get ahead or keep up with their classmates. Some of these have decided to have tuition because of special needs, such as autism or dyspraxia. I have two sisters who are home-schooled, and one LAC, where the extra tuition is paid for through the school.