Find UK Tuition

Richard - English & History Tutor in West London (A-level/ GCSE)

Richard Davis A-level English Tutor (West London)

Richard Davis Gold Member

  • Holland Park (W14)
  • Last Logged In: 25 May 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Barnet, Camden, City of London, Hammersmith and Fulham, Islington, Lambeth, Wandsworth, Westminster
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA in English Language and Literature - UCL - First CLass
  • Professional Qualification M.Phil in American Literature - Cambridge University
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check I have an up-to-date DBS Certificate.
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I specialise in tutoring English from 11+ up to degree level, and History at GCSE and A-Level. I have a First Class Degree in English Literature from UCL, and an MPhil in American Literature from Cambridge University. I am also a published novelist.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach English at 11+ and 13+; English Literature, English Language, and History at GCSE Level; English Literature and History at A Level; and English Literature at degree level.

I also teach essay writing skills. I have worked with a diverse range of university students – economists, philosophers, psychologists – to hone their essays and dissertations.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a First Class Degree in English Literature from UCL, and an MPhil in American Literature from Cambridge University. I was awarded four A grades at A Level (this was before the introduction of the A*), and scored full marks – or very near full marks – in all modules. At GCSE, I was awarded 9A*s.

I have had two novels published by Canelo: 'False Prophet' in 2016 and 'Never Forget' in 2017. Both are American-style thrillers.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have been tutoring for nearly four years, and have worked with a number of prestigious tutoring agencies, including Bonas MacFarlane and Enjoy Education. Most of my work has been with school-aged students, though I have also worked with university students.
How much do you charge?
I charge £45 for school level tuition and £50 for degree level tuition.
Where do you teach?
I tend to teach at students' homes, though I am also happy to teach in public spaces, such as public libraries.
When are you available?
I am available on weekdays – both during the day and after school – and weekends.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
My students tend to be between 11 and 18 years of age; however, I am also comfortable teaching university students and adult learners.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an up-to-date DBS Certificate.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I am happy to teach over Skype or Facetime.