Find UK Tuition

Rory George - History/ Politics/ English/ Economics/ IB Tutor London

Ruairidh George University History Tutor (North West London)

Ruairidh George Gold Member

  • Marylebone (NW1) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 01 May 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Barnet, City of London, Hackney, Haringey, Harrow, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Newham, Redbridge

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

  • Professional Qualification BA Politics and History from Russell Group University
  • Professional Qualification Experienced Tutor and Educational Workshop Leader
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Fully DBS Checked
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I was born in Australia. Since then, my family and I have moved around the world, in countries like Germany and Chile. I am available 9am to 8pm all week, and will travel across London to Tutor as well as teach online.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I specialise in History and Politics, which I can teach at all levels up to undergraduate at University. I can also teach Biology, Economics, Maths, Geography, English, and Sociology for GCSE, A-level and IB diploma students. I am also experienced in teaching students under the age of 16 in a variety of subjects like Maths, Geography, Science, English, the Humanities, Music and History.

I can also offer guidance in study skills, exam preparation, essay writing, university and school entrance exams and oral examinations.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I graduated university with a BA Hons in Politics, International Relations and History.

At school I attained an International Baccalaureate diploma with a 6 in Higher Level History, 6 in Higher Level Economics, 5 in Higher Level English Literature, 6 in Spanish Ab, 6 in Maths Studies, and a 5 in Biology Standard Level.

I also studied for the Middle Years Programme (MYP) where I studied ten subjects including Geography, History, Chemistry, Biology, Maths, English, German, Physical Education, Music Theory, and Music as a GCSE equivalent qualification.
What kind of experience do you have?
During my time at Bonn International School in Germany, I taught an age range of 10 - 18 History, Maths, English, Geography, Biology and Economics. During these lessons I would often work one on one or two on one with students. I often worked for the friends of my parents who wanted me to help their children attain high levels of achievement in their classes. I have worked with students who both wanted to improve low level scores and, students who wanted to achieve top marks.

I have worked with GCSE, A-Level and IB students during my school and university years. This focused primarily on Politics, History, Economics and Philosophy which I taught to students aged between 14 and 18. I mainly focused on helping with essay writing skills, exam taking techniques and working on building up my students study skills to help them succeed in their studies.

At university I tutored fellow classmates in Political Theory, Political Economy, International Relations and History, provided editing and guidance for essays and helped organise exam study sessions which I led. Outside of university I have been part of several organisations that set up educational workshops that aim to engage young people in Politics, History and Economics of a variety of ages.

I have also provided private music lessons from the age of 14 in Guitar and Saxophone.
How much do you charge?
My standard fee will be £30 - £40, depending on distance, subject and subject level. I will offer reduced price lessons for unwaged or low income students subject to verbal consultation.
Where do you teach?
I am willing to teach online (via Skype), at the student's home and anywhere else that is convenient for you. I am based in Walthamstow, London and will happily travel to any borough across the city. This includes Camden, Greenwich, Hackney, Hammersmith, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Lambeth, Lewisham, Southwark, Tower Hamlets, Wandsworth, Westminster, Barking, Barnet, Ealing, Haringey, Waltham Forest and Richmond upon Thames.

Areas not listed are also absolutely fine. Essentially I am happy to travel across London to tutor.
When are you available?
I am available seven days a week between 0900 and 2000. I will also be available during school holidays, seasonal holidays i.e. Christmas and Summer as well as Autumn breaks.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach students above the age of ten in a variety of subjects.

I can teach students in Maths, Science, History, Politics, Geography, English and Music up to A-level.

I specialise in History and Politics, which I teach up to undergraduate level at university as well as IB Diploma which includes IB Maths, History, English, Biology and Economics at Higher and Standard Level.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE, A-level, IB Diploma and BA undergraduates.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I am able to use Skype and other forms of online communication to teach students. I am happy to work with whatever students need to get the right kind of help from me online.
Tell me about some of your current students.
08/2015 - 05/2016 Olivia Qasir: Olivia was a fellow classmate. After finding out that I offered tutoring to History students she asked if it would be possible for me to help her with both essay writing and exam preparation with a particular focus on the Modern Middle East. Olivia was an excellent student, but struggled with pushing her grades over the first class mark. I worked with her to produce first class essays that focused on her sourcing and writing techniques by reviewing the criteria for a first. We also worked on practise exams and past papers together to prepare her for exam conditions and improve her exam writing. I am pleased to say Olivia finished her Modern Middle East Course with a first.

07/2014 - 05/2015 Anna: Anna was a friend's younger sister who, after her first year of IB, was finding it hard to get the grades she needed to get into her university of choice (7 and 6 for History and Economics respectively). I found that while she was able to grasp the overarching concepts and ideas, she found it difficult to retain all the information she needed. I spent four hours a week tutoring her in both History and Economics, tackling the topics that she found most difficult and reinforcing the lessons she had during school. After all her hard work, Anna was able to get the grades she needed to apply to LSE and Warwick and is now studying Economics at LSE.

08/2012 - 03/2013 Faduma and Sana: Faduma and Sana were the children of my Dad's friend Mohammad Alfridi. I was asked by Mr. Alfridi if it would be possible to tutor in Sana AS level Economics and Faduma in A - Level History and Economics. Both students were finding it difficult to understand the theoretical concepts of Economics, how to interpret and draw graphs and learning how to apply concepts to real world situations. I found we had to go back to the very basics and reinforce their understandings of the key tenants of Economics, and then build on them by slowly introducing more complicated concepts, taking the time to make sure they both understood what was happening at each level. I am happy to say that both Faduma and Sana achieved A's in their final exams.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I have lots of experience working with students from a variety of age groups and backgrounds. I always try to make my lessons fun and engaging and will work hard to make sure that the style and format of learning suites each individual student. This means I will constantly check to see if the lessons are working for you, what you like and how I can improve to make the time we spend together as enjoyable and useful as possible. I also work with many groups who specialise in engaging young people in Politics and education, finding ways to make learning and discussion an interactive and fun experience.

I have had plenty of experiences being tutored myself, and know what it is like to get extra lessons and help with subjects. I believe this makes me more patient and understanding when things are hard, and more driven to help students overcome the challenges they face.

Personally, I am a friendly, outgoing person who believes everyone can understand anything if they are given the right tools. This idea is central to my teaching and will be a big part of how we interact and work together to achieve your goals. I have had the opportunity to live all across the world, and have gained valuable insight into how to work with people on their own terms.

I look forward to working with you!