Find UK Tuition

Ruth Gordon-Weeks - Biology/ Chemistry/Science Tuitor Dulwich

Ruth Gordon-Weeks A-level Biology Tutor (South East London)

Ruth Gordon-Weeks Silver Member

  • East Dulwich (SE22) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 06 Dec 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Lambeth, Lewisham
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I am an experienced tutor with an in depth and up to date scientific knowledge gained from a life long career dedicated to scientific research.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach A level biology and chemistryt and GCSE biology, chemistry and physics. I also specialize in access to medicine, such as GAMSTAT.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have an honours degree in Chemistry and Zoology and a PhD in endocrine physiology. I have undertaken training of PhD students and I have CELTA and PTLLS teaching qualifications.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have a lifetime experience of academic and applied scientific research. Much of this experience was gained during time as a senior research scientist at Rothamsted Research, which is a public sector research institute with a world renowned reputation in agricultural science. I can offer an in depth and up to date knowledge of a number of different areas relevant to the A level biology and chemistry curriculum and to the three GCSE science subjects and I have invested considerable time and effort into ensuring that I am aware of all the recent changes to A level and GCSE course content. Throughout my career as a scientist, I have taught graduate and undergraduate students, visiting workers, other colleagues and junior members of staff to acquire theoretical, practical and communication (both written and oral) skills. I have undertaken in house training as a PhD supervisor and I have played a major role in the supervision of at least six PhD students and three bursary students. I have lectured on an A level chemistry foundation course to overseas students at Kings College, London. I am an experienced speaker at International and National conferences and I have delivered seminars and lectures to both specialist and non specialist audiences. I have organised practical projects for groups of students from local secondary schools as part of the requirement for the CREST award. My approach to tutoring is student centered; I build confidence and create an atmosphere where pupils are happy to participate actively in the lessons and test their ideas. This ensures that they have grasped the important concepts and are able to answer questions confidently in exam situations. I attribute great importance to positive rapport and a trusting relationship, both with the pupil and their parents.
How much do you charge?
My fees start at £27.50 for GCSE and I charge £30 for A level. Where long distance to travel (over 20 mins each way) are involved I will add £5 to the fee. I am happy teach more than one pupil at negotiable rates and I may be prepared to negotiate if students are able to come to my home or are under constrained financial circumstances.
Where do you teach?
I am happy teach from home (East Dulwich) or I will travel to the student's home. Provided the journey is less than 20 mins I will add no extra charge.
When are you available?
I am available to teach at any time to suit the student. Day time (other than Fridays) is particularly preferable as evenings are very busy.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I am happy to teach children from 15 years upwards, but A level is my preferred educational level.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
GCSE and A level. I can also teach certain subjects beyond A level. I have experience of preparing students for university entrance, particularly medicine.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
The Institute for Learning
Where and with whom did you train?
My first degree was from the University of Hull. I then went to the University of Sheffield for a short spell and then to the Max Planck Institute in Munich. My PhD was awarded by Imperial College and the National Institute of Medical Research. I studied for the CELTA qualification at Bedford College.
Tell me about some of your current students.
Last year (2016-2017) I taught 35 students A/AS level biology and chemistry. Some of the students achieved the grades required to read medicine at University and others are taking degree courses in physics, chemistry or biological science. I also taught a handful of mature students taking GAMSAT, which is a very demanding test. However, I find that if candidates are prepared to be organized with their study program and fit it around their employment - and also take the exam more than once - success can be theirs. This year a 32 year old former tutee who came to me with no scientific knowledge beyond GCSE level and who had pursued a career in theater management, finally passed the exam and achieved his dream of being accepted at St George's medical school.
Not all students, of course, become scientists, but if they are planning to go into photography or art restoration, for example, an understanding of chemistry might be useful. Such students often feel out of their depth in classes full of colleagues with a broader scientific background and particularly benefit from a tutor who is prepared to make sure that they understand some of the fundamental concepts that are required to progress successfully in the subject.
Do you have a personal message for students?
Obviously, I enjoy teaching keen students who have an ambition to pursue science further but I also find it rewarding to make lessons interesting and enjoyable for those who are less engaged with the subject. I believe that I am always sympathetic to pupils struggling with particular topics as I did not find all of science easy when I was a student. I certainly had problems with physics, but I especially enjoy teaching it now.