Find UK Tuition

Sam Jenkins - Maths Tutor in London for A-level and GCSE

Sam Jenkins GCSE Maths Tutor (South East London)

Sam Jenkins Gold Member

  • Central Lewisham (SE13) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 01 Oct 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Barnet, Bromley, City of London, Greenwich, Kensington and Chelsea, Lambeth, Southwark, Tower Hamlets, Westminster
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BSc (Maths and Psychology), London University,1969
  • Professional Qualification Teacher's Certificate, 1966
  • Professional Membership I have been a GCSE examiner for Edexcel for some years.

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Hello! I have experience, patience, understanding and expertise in teaching Pure Mathematics, Mechanics and Statistics.
But I have a message to all students of Maths:

Do your Homework!
and:
Stay on good terms with your teacher/lecturer/professor!
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I'm very enthusiastic about Mathematics:
Maths (Pure and Applied); Further Maths; Mechanics; and Statistics.
GCSE and IGCSE Maths.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a BSc degree in Psychology and Mathematics from London University and a Teacher's Certificate, each dating from the 1960s.
What kind of experience do you have?
Most of my 35 years' experience has been teaching in South London and Kent.
I have taught overseas, in Tanzania and in Zambia.
I have lectured in Business Information Technology at the University of Westminster.
How much do you charge?
I charge £40 per lesson.
A lesson is 75 minutes: that is 1 and a quarter hours.
I do not charge any extra for travel.
Group discounts can be negotiated.
Where do you teach?
I teach in my pupils' homes.
Most of my clients are from South London; occasionally I travel to Essex, North Kent, or to Central and North London.
I teach anywhere within London Rail Zones 1 - 6, but I do not teach outside that area.
This year I have decided to go to all my pupils by public transport, wherever possible.
When are you available?
I am available most days, with the exception of Sundays, when I play with some of my grandchildren.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach pupils over the age of 16, to GCSE, IB, A-level and University entrance examinations.
I also teach undergraduates who need mathematical support, for example first-year medical students, engineering students and trainee teachers.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
Most of my students are working for their GCSE, International Baccalaureate or A-levels in Maths, Mechanics or Statistics.
Occasionally I get requests to prepare people for University entrance, or to help with Statistics projects.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I had a CRB certificate, several years ago, which is now out of date.

I must point out that for the good of all concerned, if I am teaching a pupil under 18 years, it is essential that another responsible adult is somewhere in the house.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am registered with the General Teaching Council for England.
Teacher reference number: 63/16475
Where and with whom did you train?
I trained at Goldsmiths' College and at Birkbeck College, both in the University of London.
That was in the 1960s!
Do you have a personal message for students?
See above:
"Do your homework and stay on good terms with your School or College."
Also:
Decide which topic(s) you want to study before your tutor arrives!