Find UK Tuition

Sandra - Maths, Music & English (EFL) Tuition in Cheltenham, Gloucs

Sandra Burne GCSE Maths Tutor (Gloucester)

Sandra Burne Gold Member

Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification BA Maths and Music, PG Dip in Professional Studies in Education
  • Professional Qualification CELTA, DipABRSM, PTLLS, UKCC Rowing Coaching (level 2)
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Current DBS/CRB from schools in Cheltenham and surrounding areas: Rendcomb College, St Edwards Senior, Hempstead Primary, Scouting
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I have been tutoring/coaching for over 20 years and particularly enjoy the one-to-one approach to learning because I can tailor the lessons to the student's needs and confidence levels.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach Maths, Music and English as a Foreign Language.
Tell me about your qualifications.
Postgraduate Diploma in Professional Studies in Education
BA Maths and Music
CELTA
DipABRSM (Flute teaching)
PTLLS (Level 4)
UKCC Rowing Coaching (Level 2)
What kind of experience do you have?
Over 20 years tutoring/coaching, both in the UK and in the Netherlands. I have taught one-to-one and classes of up to 30.
How much do you charge?
I offer a free consultation. I am able to travel - travel fees are arranged on an individual basis.
Where do you teach?
I teach both at my home, in a convenient location (such as a cafe), or in the student's home (a parent/carer must be present when the student is a minor).
When are you available?
Lessons can be arranged Monday to Thursday 9:00-21:00 and Saturday 9:00-13:00.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach from KS3 age children to adults.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
Maths: GCSE, IGCSE, AS, A, IB
EFL/ESOL: EAP, IELTS, academic, general and business English
Music: both theory and practical ABRSM and Trinity/Guildhall grades 1-8
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes. My most recent DBS disclosure certificates are from St Edwards Senior School, Rendcomb College, and Hempstead Primary School.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I use Skype to teach Maths, Music theory, and English as a Foreign Language. I also use a graphing tablet for writing Maths equations.
Where and with whom did you train?
BA Music & Maths, Christ Church College, Canterbury, UK
. Bachelors degree
CELTA, British Language Training Centre, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
. teaching English as a Foreigh Language
DipABRSM, Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music
. for flute teaching
PTLLS, Gloucestershire College
. teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector

Currently studying for an Masters with the Open University