Find UK Tuition

Sara - Maths/Science Tutor in Belper

Sara Green Key Stage 3 Maths Tutor (Derby)

Sara Green

  • Belper (DE56)
  • Last Logged In: 21 Sep 2017
  • Sex: Female
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Hello. I have plenty of experience of tailoring and adapting maths & science tutor sessions to individuals, am friendly and like to get the best out of my tutees in an informal but effective atmoshpere.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
Primary and Secondary Maths is the subject in which I have the largest amount of experience and training, however, as a science graduate, and a KS3 science teacher I am also able to tutor GCSE science and biology to A-Level.
Tell me about your qualifications.
MSc Conservation Science, Imperial College London.
BSc Zoology, Durham University, 2.1.
A-Levels - Bioogy, Geography, Geology (AAA)
What kind of experience do you have?
Some years ago I took part in a government funded course to become a specialist Numeracy Tutor, as part of a scheme to raise the national Keystage two SATs levels results. I received a very high grade, which involved a supervised tutor lesson with a primary school. I then went on to tutor children between the ages of 7 and 9, in maths, at the same school.

On and off, between studying, I have worked in a secondary school ranging from ages 10 to 14 as both a one-to-one maths tutor and as a learning support assistant. As part of the maths department I undertook one-to-one maths lesson with Year 6 pupils before key stage two exams, so as to raise the average results. Of all the staff working to do this, I achieved the greatest improvement, with 90% of my students achieving level 4. This has been a role I have had since, and extended to small group sessions rather than just one-to-one. All lesson plans and resources had been my own. In addition I have been an LSA working with the more vulnerable children, including autistic pupils, of all ages within the school, not just with maths.

In the past I have led practical science workshops for year 1 and year 2 children, which involved teaching the basic concepts and engaging the pupils with hands-on science activities to encourage and excite them, aiming to further learning and interest.

For two year I was also a Key Stage 3 science teacher, and head of the science department, within a London Montessori School, teaching a mixed range of children between 12 and 16 years old.

Over a number of years I have had many private tutees, for KS1 Maths, KS2 Maths, KS3 Science, Science GSCEs, and A-Level Biology. I have received positive feedback from all my tutees and have become friends with them and their families. As someone who is friendly and encouraging all the children I have worked with have learnt to enjoy their tutor lessons with me and all have improved greatly over the time in which we worked together.

I have now spent 7 years teaching and tutoring, and have really seen the benefit of one to one support, especially with confidence building.
How much do you charge?
Per hour: £20 for Keystages 1 and 2; £25 for Keystage 3 and GCSE Science; £30 for A-Level Biology. I don't charge for travel but will provide discounts for groups or sessions longer than an hour.
Where do you teach?
I am happy to travel to students' homes within Belper and surrounding areas, or wherever convenient. I have also tutored within my own home if preferable.
When are you available?
Weekday and evening availability.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
Age 5 - 14 for Maths. Up to 16 years old for general science and up to 18 years old for Biology (ALevel).
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes