Find UK Tuition

Dr Sasha Garwood - English/ History Tutor in Central Sheffield

Sasha Garwood A-level English Tutor (Sheffield)

Sasha Garwood

  • Central Sheffield (S3)
  • Last Logged In: 23 Oct 2017
  • Sex: Female
  • Can Travel To: Barnsley, Rotherham

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I've been tutoring in English and History from GCSE to university level for over a decade, and really enjoy working with students on finding ways of making learning fun, interesting, and relevant.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach English and History to university level, and Media Studies to A-level. I specialise in early modern history but am also able to teach everything from the medieval period to WW2, and for English I have an improbably vast range of experience.

I'm also available for dissertation proofreading and general essay writing, focusing on fluency, tone, structure and argument.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I recently completed a partly scholarship-funded interdisciplinary PhD at UCL covering English, history and psychology, and I also have a First in English Literature from UCL, and an MSt from Keble College Oxford. I've also won several awards and prizes for writing over my career.
What kind of experience do you have?
I've been teaching for over a decade, in colleges, universities and on a one-to-one agency basis, for students ranging from 5 to 65. I've taught GCSE and A-levels in classes and individually, undergraduates at UCL and elsewhere, and adult learners in a number of settings and contexts, as well as university-based summer schools and a fair few workshops in English, history and drama.
How much do you charge?
I charge £30 per hour, but that includes travel to anywhere in Sheffield. If you need me to venture further afield, we can discuss travel charges on a case-by-case basis.
Where do you teach?
I usually teach at students' homes, and am happy to travel elsewhere in Yorkshire, like Rotherham, Barnsley or Doncaster. If I'm travelling more than ten miles from home, there will usually be an additional travel charge to cover petrol. My home in Central Sheffield is quite small, so I don't teach from there unless in exceptional circumstances, but have used cafes or libraries before if a student's home isn't convenient. I'm also very happy to tutor online, usually over Skype.
When are you available?
At the moment, I am available Mon-Fri days and evenings, because my other current commitments are all writing and that's pretty flexible.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I usually teach GCSE, A-level and undergraduates, although I'm also more than happy to teach KS4.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
Most of my students are studying for GCSEs, A-levels or for their undergraduate degrees, but I've also prepared students for the Oxford ELAT exams and for NFCE English Level 2.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes.
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
I usually tutor online over Skype.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I am deeply passionate about the things I teach, but I'm also pretty clear that not everyone is, and that it's on me to find ways of making learning enjoyable, interesting and engaging - whether through an innovative approach to subject matter and example or finding new ways of exploring texts, events and media.

I'm understanding and sympathetic towards both the pressure high achievers put on themselves and those the school system places on the less academically inclined, and it's really important to me to understand where my students are coming from and tailor my approach accordingly.

I've specialised in students with complex needs - people with experience of depression, eating disorders, histories of trauma or other mental health issues - and I'm used to being flexible, responsive and supportive, whether these things are a factor or not.