Find UK Tuition

Dan Milverton MMus - Classical/ Jazz Sax, Clarinet, Flute

Dan Milverton (MMus) Saxophone Teacher (Birmingham)

Dan Milverton (MMus)

  • Central Birmingham (B15)
  • Last Logged In: 07 Mar 2018
  • Sex: Male
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
Enthusiastic musician who recently completed a Master's in Performance and Pedagogy.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach Saxophone, Clarinet, Flute and Music Theory. I teach a wide range of genres and I am happy to tailor lessons to suit pupils needs.
Tell me about your qualifications.
MMus Performance and Pedagogy (teaching practice) at Birmingham Conservatoire- Distinction
BMus (Hons) from Birmingham Conservatoire
DipABRSM (Performance)
Grade 8 Theory.

MMus Performance and Pedagogy Course Prize Winner
Birmingham Conservatoire Saxophone Prize Winner
Rollason Music Award Winner
Doris Newton Chamber Music Prize
Winifred Micklam Prize
Maddocks Mills Fund
Wolfson Trust Awardee
BCA Trust Awardee
What kind of experience do you have?
I have a wide range of experience in both teaching and performing. I perform regularly in the Midlands and around the country, I've recorded for BBC Radio 3, performed numerous world premiers, which have been recorded and played internationally, and I regularly perform in the pit for musical theatre productions.

As a teacher I have been teaching privately in Birmingham for over 7 years. I teach for local music services and have undertaken educational projects with both the CBSO and the Orchestra of the Swan alongside doing freelance educational work at colleges around the area and further afield. I have experience teaching young children through to adults who've always wanted to learn an instrument. I teach beginners through to students studying for their diplomas and auditions for Universities and have experience of tailoring my lessons to suit the individual needs of my pupils.
How much do you charge?
I charge £30 an hour or £15 for half an hour
Where do you teach?
I am able to travel to homes, or alternatively I can teach from City Centre
When are you available?
I have slots on weekdays and weekends, however it is best to speak to me to find out when. Every effort will be made to find a convenient time
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I currently teach from beginner level on all instruments right up to Diploma, working with all ages.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I am happy to teach for fun or graded exams. Exam board is on a student by student basis as I try and use the most suitable exam board for each pupil should they wish to take exams
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have a current DBS check and have done safeguarding courses
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
I am a member of the ISM
Do you have a personal message for students?
Throughout the year I offer a number of performance opportunities for students to share what they have been working on, either for fun or with exam prep in mind.