Find UK Tuition

Science, ICT, Maths, Physics, Biology, Chemistry Tutor NW London, Herts (Cricklewood etc)

Mr M Bury GCSE Science Tutor (North West London)

Mr M Bury

  • West Hampstead (NW2)
  • Last Logged In: 16 Nov 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Barnet, Brent, City of London, Haringey, Islington, Westminster
Contact Me

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I was a secondary Science, ICT & D&T teacher, I then taught undergraduates and postgraduates at University, also serving as programme leader for a PGCE course, I am currently involved in academic research and so available for part time tutoring.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I am fully trained to teach single award Science, Double Science as well as triple science to GCSE level, Maths, D&T. In addition, I teach A Level Biology, Chemistry, Physics, D&T.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have A Levels in Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Maths at A and B grades. I attended Oxford University and gained a BA then an MA in Botany. I qualified as a secondary teacher after a PGCE at Middlesex University, then completed an MSc in Occupational Safety & Health.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have taught Science, ICT, D&T to all key stages at comprehensive schools in North London, Essex, Hertfordshire for nearly 13 years. In addition to my experience in teacher training at University and in schools, I have also in the past worked as a New Opportunities Fund ICT trainer in secondary Science & D&T. In past years I have worked as an examiner and moderator for 3 Examination Boards.
How much do you charge?
For KS3, KS4 (GCSE) lessons and for A Level Science tutoring I charge £30 an hour. Travel is not charged. Discounts are negotiable for groups of learners.
Where do you teach?
I am able to teach at students' homes and am willing to travel to areas in North London, Middlesex, Hertfordshire.
When are you available?
Every evening from 7.00pm-9pm Mon-Fri , 10am-5pm on Sunday, 10am-5pm through half term and other holidays. I reserve Saturdays for my own family time.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I am currently teaching some university undergraduate students, but mainly A/AS-levels or AP Biology, Chemistry, Physics & in past years I have tutored IB students. Others are studying for GCSE,mostly Sciences, Maths, and D&T.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
I have an up-to-date clean Enhanced Disclosure CRB certificate since 1993, this is now updated by the DBS annually as part of my subscription.
Do you have a personal message for students?
I use various methods centred on the student's learning style, but my background in secondary school teaching and teacher training means tutoring groups is equally successful.