Find UK Tuition

Dr Paul Kilkenny - Science, Chemistry, English Tutor in Bromley

Dr Paul Kilkenny A-level Biology Tutor (Bromley)

Dr Paul Kilkenny Gold Member

  • Central Bromley (BR1) View on map
  • Last Logged In: 19 Oct 2017
  • Sex: Male
Contact Me
  • Professional Qualification MBBS (Hons) Degree in Medicine and Surgery
  • Professional Qualification BA (Hons) in Philosophy
  • Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS, formerly CRB) Check Enhanced DBS Certificate
  • Professional Membership Member of British Mensa (IQ 176)
  • References References are available upon request

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
I'm a medical doctor who loves teaching. I'm often told by parents that I've enabled their child to finally understand subjects that they've struggled with for a long time.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Maths, English and University Entrance (GAMSAT, UKCAT).

I use the latest tools and methods to reinforce understanding and retention of knowledge. For example, I get students to briefly summarise what they've learned during our lesson in an electronic mind map or bullet points, written on my iPad during the lesson with me, which I upload immediately to a free cloud storage programme (Evernote) or can send by email or print. Students and parents can then access and edit these unique, individually-tailored notes 24/7, either on their smartphone or computer. I also give parents progress regular updates using this same online method (as well as by telephone or in person, as preferred). This has proved very popular with students and parents.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have an honours degree in Medicine and Surgery, and an honours degree in Philosophy, both from the University of London. I have over 20 years' experience of successfully tutoring students to achieve top grades at GCSE and A-Level, often after having previously struggled. In addition, I have gained places for my students in some of the best selective schools in the country, including St Paul's Girls, JAGS, Godolphin & Latymer, Dulwich, City of London Boys, Eton and Westminster.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have more than 20 years' experience of tutoring students in science at A-Level and GSCE, and for school entrance examinations at 11 and 13, with very strong results. I maximise students' grades by enhancing both their understand and their examination technique. I use past papers, mark schemes, reports of examiners, and carefully chosen resources to precisely cover a student's specification, so that all tuition time is maximally efficient. We also spend time resolving any problem areas that a student may be struggling with, and the greater understanding that comes from this often leads to greater enjoyment of the subject. What makes me different is my ability to find each person's individual best route to understanding, in other words to communicate subjects to students in ways that are individually tailored to help them understand and remember. I believe that learning should always be enjoyable, and my aim is for my students to finish their lessons feeling more positive about themselves and their abilities. My constant goal is to enable children and young people to reach their full potential, and so maximise their life chances, whether this potential has been spotted by their schools or not.
How much do you charge?
£50 per hour for A-Level, GCSE and Secondary. £35 each for 2 or more students in the same lesson.
Where do you teach?
I tutor from a large bright dining room within my house 5 minutes walk from Bromley South Station, which is a 17-minute train ride from London's Victoria Station.
When are you available?
Weekends and weekday evenings
Which ages and levels do you teach?
All ages, from school children to mature students
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
A-Level & GCSE Biology, A-Level & GCSE Chemistry, A-Level and GCSE Physics, GCSE Mathematics, GCSE English, University Entrance: GAMSAT, UKCAT.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
Yes, an enhanced DBS certificate
Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.
Over Skype. Ideally a face-to-face lesson initially to establish a relationship and goals, with Skype lessons to follow, though I'm happy to tutor online even if a face-to-face meeting isn't possible.
Do you belong to any professional organisations?
BMA, Mensa
Where and with whom did you train?
University of London, St. George's Hospital Medical School, and Birkbeck College University of London.
Tell me about some of your current students.
I have a number of students that I teach for GCSE and A-Level science, and some that I teach for GCSE mathematics and English. Some of my A-level and GCSE students first came to me, with very little belief left in themselves, after disappointing results in AS or GCSE examinations. It has been a privilege and a pleasure to watch them grow in skill and confidence, as they realise that topics that they had previously found incomprehensible can be explained simply, and in ways that are easy to remember. They frequently then go on to obtain top grades, and there is nothing on this earth more satisfying than changing lives for the better.
Do you have a personal message for students?
Even topics and subjects that you've struggled with and found impossible to understand are simple at heart, and if they're explained to you in the right way you can master them and never forget them.