Find UK Tuition

Nick Makins - Biology/ Chemistry/ Maths Tutor in Canonbury, NE London

Nick Makins A-level Biology Tutor (North London)

Nick Makins

  • Canonbury (N5)
  • Last Logged In: 20 Mar 2017
  • Sex: Male
  • Can Travel To: Camden, City of London, Hackney, Haringey

This tutor is temporarily unavailable

Subjects

(click on the subjects to see other tutors in this area)

Personal Message
As a medical graduate I have a strong basis in science and maths and experience as a tutor. I enjoy learning and aim to pass on this enthusiasm for science and maths in a fun and relaxed environment via a flexible and tailored approach to teaching.
Which subject(s) do you teach?
I teach science and maths for GCSE and A level and A level Philosophy.
I offer help with medical school applications, interviews and exams such as UKCAT and BMAT.
I also have ample experience working with children with a range of special needs.

With a strong 1st in my Psychology BSc dissertation and consistently good marks in medical school essays, I also provide a dissertation advice and proofreading service for undergraduates in a range of scientific subjects.
Tell me about your qualifications.
I have a medical degree and a 2.1 degree in Medical Science with Psychology, both from UCL, and am currently studying for an MSc in Philosophy of Science.
What kind of experience do you have?
I have tutored several students through their GCSEs.
I have also organised and taught medical tutorials for younger students in the medical school.
I have ample experience working with children of a wide range of ages, at a centre for children with special needs and on a one-to-one basis.
How much do you charge?
Tutoring:
1 student £35 per hour
2 students £60 per hour
3 students £75 per hour

Dissertation proofreading:
£25 per hour
Where do you teach?
I can come to students' home around Central, North and East London, covering most of the boroughs of Islington, Camden, Haringey and Hackney.
When are you available?
I am available most midweek evenings depending on the exact timing and location.
I will be available throughout the whole of this academic year (2016/17) and possibly beyond.
Which ages and levels do you teach?
I teach ages throughout secondary and sixth form education, principally covering GCSEs and A levels.
Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?
I prepare students for GCSEs and A level as well as university admission, specifically for medical school.
Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?
No
Tell me about some of your current students.
Testimonial from previous student:

"Nick tutored both me and my classmate at GCSE science, helping us both to achieve grades we previously thought impossible. He was both very knowledgeable and patient, putting us at ease while be taught, however remained persistent with us in order to make sure we achieved the grades we wanted. Although he was not confined to just tutoring science, his passion for the subject ensured we continuously developed as students."